Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Industrial Psychology: PGDip Strategic HRM 2022

Welcome

Visit the #SmartResearcher library calendar for more information on our workshops: copyright issues in theses and dissertation writing, how to conduct a literature review, Mendeley for reference management and more!

Do you want to improve your writing? Are you looking for writing support? The Writing Lab is there for you!  Book a free writing consultation or attend the Writing skills workshops.

Library access

Off-campus E-access
As a SU registered student  you will have access to a wealth of electronic publications available in full-text from off-campus via our library homepage. When off-campus and prompted to login, log in with your SU username (also called "network" or "portal" credentials) and password. See Password Selfhelp guide.

For off-campus access details, see our Library guide: Off-campus Access for Stellenbosch Registered Users.

Interlibrary loans
Interlibrary loans is a service available to registered students  to request books and articles, not available at the libraries of the Stellenbosch University Library. Documents are requested from South African libraries as well as international libraries.  Use the online ILL request form to submit a request.

All icons were downloaded from flaticon.com

Google & Google Scholar

What is a Library Links preference on Google Scholar and how can I do it from home?

A Library Links preference allows you set your preferred Library Choice in Google Scholar. It will then automatically detect when an article is freely available via any of the electronic platforms that Stellenbosch University Library subscribes to. Use the guide below to change your Google Scholar settings on your own computer.

undefined

*Google puts an AND between spaces

*Case does not matter - except for operators (AND/OR/NOT)Can use + (AND) or - (NOT)

*Word order matters, Google ranks results according to the order you search in

*Google ignores punctuation

 
Search specific domains:
intitle:
inurl:
Search specific files or results:

     filetype:

A URL (Uniform Resource Locator) is a web address for a page or document on the World Wide Web. We can make some educated guesses about the reliability of a web site if we know a little about URLs. 

Each URL (for example http://www.whitehouse.gov/about/internships), consists of an access protocol (http), a domain name (www.whitehouse.gov), and an optional path to a file or resource residing on that server (about/internships).

The domain name indicates the organization responsible for the site (www.whitehouse.gov in the example above). The top-level domain indicates the type of site (gov in the example above).

The most common top-level domains and the type of site they indicate are:

  • com     commercial business or for-profit organizations
  • co.za   commercial South Africa
  • gov      United States government agencies
  • gov.za   government South Africa
  • edu      educational institutions
  • ac        academic institutions
  • mil       United States military organizations
  • org       non-profit organizations

In general, .gov and .edu web sites are more reliable than .com web sites.

Referencing, Plagiarism and Reading Slides

Plagiarism

Consult the Library Plagiarism guide for Stellenbosch University policies, tutorials, help and training.
Did you know?
It is compulsory for all students to sign the Plagiarism Declaration (as attached in Addendum 1 of the SU policy on academic integrity policy document) and to attach it to any study assignment, as prescribed by the department concerned. SU Senate. 2010. Stellenbosch University policy on academic integrity: the prevention and handling of plagiarism [Internet}. Stellenbosch University. Available: Policy document [2011, 9 September]

Copyright to consider when writing your thesis

Effective Searching

Databases contains articles with information that will guide you to the answers you seek. Instead of searching with questions on databases, you have to search for information using KEYWORDS.

When extracting KEYWORDS from your assignment or essay, you need to look at the key concepts that encapsulate your assignment.

Example:

Is it true that economic growth makes the rich richer and the poor poorer?

KEYWORDS:

  • Economic growth
  • Inequality OR income inequality

Note: The concepts that you are looking for are not always expressed in the
language of the assignment or question, but often through other related terms.

See the Guide for step-by-step instructions.

AND – returns results with both keywords. AND usually limits the search results
OR – returns results with one or the other keyword.It broadens your results by connecting two or more synonyms.
NOT – returns results excluding specific keywords

Use the Boolean Machine for visualizing the effects of Boolean operators .

More tips:

Quotation Marks “ ” – keep keywords together, for exact phrase searching
Brackets ( ) – keep concepts together, used for synonyms

Example:

("green energy" OR "sustainable energy" OR "renewable energy") AND (logistics OR "supply chain")

undefined

Use the "Search strategy builder" to help you create a search string, using Boolean logic. You can cut and paste the results into most databases’ search boxes.

 

Building blocks Search strategy
Identify keywords, write next to each other
Think of synonyms or alternatives for these words
Write these words under the corresponding keywords in blocks

Example
Find articles about the tax treatment and regulations of cryptocurrencies
Tax                       cryptocurrency                      Regulation
levy                       virtual currency                    rules
tariff                      bitcoin                                   policy
fee                        digital currency                    act
rate                       peercoin                             

Combine rows with AND and columns with OR operators.
Search string: (tax OR levy OR tariff OR fee OR rate) AND (cryptocurrency OR "virtual currency" OR bitcoin OR "digital currency" OR peercoin) AND (regulation OR rules OR policy OR act)

 

Quick-and-easy” search method

Steps:

1. What would be the title of your search?
2. Identify the main keywords
3. Which keyword is most vital (and which next)?
4. think about some proper search terms (other than those words jotted down already, synonyms, related terms, scientific names etc.)

5. Compose a simple query using a few important terms linked by ‘AND’ or ‘OR’ operators

Use quotation marks “…” for adjacent words or two or more words that make up a single concept (e.g. “attention deficit disorder”). Group synonyms and related terms together in brackets

5. The search engine or database will give lists of records. Reduce the number of records displayed and increase relevancy by restricting them according to publication date, etc.

My example:

The impact of genetically modified foods on our lives

Search terms: genetically modified food, GM food, transgenic food, food safety, food risks, allergic reactions, health

 Search string: (“genetically modified food” OR “GM food” OR “transgenic food) AND (food safety OR food risks OR allergic reactions OR health)

Suggested Key databases

       EBSCOhost Research Databases                   Search strategy Ebsco

APA 7th Referencing

 The following University Library guides will assist you with getting started with APA 7 th ed and provide examples for APA references:

Library guide of Victoria University
Library guide of James Cook University

Library guide of University of Mary
 

Turnitin

Turnitin is a tool to check the originality of your written work and it will provide guidelines where necessary to you regarding where and how you can improve it. Consult the Turnitin Libray Guide for more detail.

TURNITIN is available via http://learn.sun.ac.za; be sure to use Mozilla Firefox.

TURNITIN login problems & Help:

How does TURNITIN work:
See video on how Turnitin works and an explanation for the colour-coding in the feedback report.

Evaluation

We would appreciate your feedback and suggestions regarding this training session. Please complete the Evaluation Form and submit.