It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access repositories /Free Medical Databases and journals
BestBETSProvides rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions in emergency medicine, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. Developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK.
BlitterBlitter is an experimental search engine which offers a new insight into searching for clinical information in the context of social media. This innovative approach to clinical search within a social context has been designed and implemented by Jon Brassey and the TRIP database team
The Cochrane LibraryThe South Africa Medical Research Council (SAMRC) and Wiley announced in June 2017 that a National Provision for the Cochrane Library for South Africa has been agreed to. The deal came into effect on 01 June 2017 and allow all South Africans access to this invaluable, evidence-based resource. The first year of the agreement runs from June 2017 to May 2018 and will be renewed for a further two years, conditional upon Governmental funds being available. Going forward, the cost of Years Two and Three will be born wholly by the SAMRC. This opportunity assist healthcare providers nationwide get free access to much needed information.
EuropePubmedCentalFree access to biomedical literature resources. How does Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) differ from PubMed and PubMed Central?Europe PMC was developed in collaboration with the founders of PubMed and PubMed Central , the National Center for Biotechnology Information which is based in the United States. The principles of these services are similar - to provide free access to published peer-reviewed biomedical and health research abstracts and full-text articles (PubMed and PubMed Central respectively) - but there are some distinct differences too.
Unlike PubMed Central, Europe PMC provides a single point of access to not only full-text articles but additionally the abstracts available through PubMed.
Clinical Key video (7:28 min)This video acts as an introduction to ClinicalKey, outlining its benefits, content offerings, and approaches based on use case. By watching this video, you will build a basic understanding of how to navigate the site and its value within their workflow.
Clinical Key: register for remote accessIn short: Go to www.clinicalkey.com/register
If you have a Scopus or Science direct login and password, you can use that information to register for remote access for Clinical Key;
Otherwise create an account for Clinical Key by selecting "Register now" at the registering site stated above. For more detailed step-by-step help, consult the guide.
Clinical KeyClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images
African Journals OnlineAssist publishers (170 publishers (9 African, 2 UK and the rest SA)) in the publishing value chain to be sustainable, relevant and providing a voice for African researchers worldwide.
African Digital RepositoryThe African Digital Repository consists of records harvested from the institutional repositories of a number of South African and African institutions. Links to the full text within the repositories are included.
A video from UCT on using Web of Science for your research
Keeping up to date with research publications
A video from UCT on how to keep up to date with research publications by means of Alerts
What is a database?
A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.
What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.