Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Earth Sciences: Finding articles / Databases

Open resources during COVID-19

Publishers from all around the world opened their resources to support Higher Education during lockdown.
Visit our COVID-19 Library Guide for optimum use. Off-campus access should not be limited!

Quick access to full text articles

1)  Follow the full-text link from databases, OR
2) Search A-Z list of e-journals by journal title, OR
3)  Search article titles on Google Scholar  

Internet Archive Scholar

Includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of 18th century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web

Earth Science Open Access Reprints

Search for print journals in the Library

Requesting books and articles not available in SUN Libraries

Your book or article not in our library? 
Submit your interlibrary request online

Key databases for Earth Sciences

Scopus
Scopus  from Elsevier is a comprehensive abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and features tools to analyze and visualize research
Scopus Tip & Trick: search smarter, find faster
More training material


SciFinder Scholar
Scifinder-n by the American Chemical Society is an excellent database for literature on geochemistry, mineralogy, metallurgy and fossil fuels. 

Training tutorials

REGISTER for SciFinder-n access on campus with a SUN email
(Login problems? contact scifi@cas.org)


ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database
Training material


Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index and Journal Citation Reports. Also features bibliometrics tools to analyse results
Training material


JSTOR

Digitized back issues of academic journals, but also includes books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals


CAB Direct

Looking for information on environment impact?


* SA GEOLit
Contains information on geoscience publications, held by the Information Centre of the Council for Geoscience (CGS). About 1880 - present


* Sabinet African Journals (includes South African journals) (also indexed on abstract databases)


* GeoRef
A comprehensive geosciences database by the American Geological Institute. More than 3500 journals, books, maps, government reports, conference papers and theses and dissertations

Need assistance with your literature review or searches?

Contact your Faculty librarian!

Create alerts to keep updated on your research topics

Access to PressReader

PressReader provides online access to over 7200 newspapers and magazines
Download the PressReader app for your mobile devices