Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Ancient Studies: Books

SUNSearch

Recommend a purchase

This is for staff members only

Key reference works for Ancient Studies

Reference shelves lower level – green disks

 

A Research guide to the ancient world: print and electronic sources - Weeks, John M and de Medeiros, Jason 2015  R016.930 WEE

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World   R912.38 BAR

Cambridge Ancient History, 14 vols  R930 CAM

Civilizations of the Ancient Near East 4 vols ed JM Sasson  R939.4 CIV

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean Greece and Rome, 3 vols   R938 CIV

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC) (at least four volumes published annually)   R880.9 CLA

Encyclopedia of Ancient History R930.03 ENC

Encyclopedia of the Archaeology of Ancient Egypt    R932.003 ENC

Oxford Classical Dictionary  R 938.003 OXF

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Egypt R 932 OXF (see also above key electronic reference works for Ancient Studies for the electronic version)

e-Books and e-book collections

The Library provides access to a large number of electronic books in many subjects. Most are available in large collections which can be searched through the publisher's interface; all are individually catalogued in the library catalogue. In addition to the collections to which the Library subscribes, a few publically available e-book collections are also listed.