It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.
What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.
Request a book or journal article not available at SU Library Service. For staff and registered students only.
Key Process Engineering databases
For the complete list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to, use the Databases A-Z link
An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. Provides access to the latest editions of renowned engineering handbooks and textbooks.
Engineering Village: Compendex
An interdisciplinary engineering and applied science database. Apart from all the engineering disciplines, coverage includes applied physics, astronomy, bioengineering, biotechnology, materials science and nanotechnology. YouTube training video
Search for substances (editor for chemical structure drawing available), reactions, journal references, MethodsNow, retrosynthesis planning, patents, and commercial source data. Training material
A comprehensive database of peer-reviewed literature. Features tools to analyze and visualize research. Training material
The IEEE Xplore digital library provides access to scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and its publishing partners. The content covers electrical engineering, computer science, biotechnology, telecommunications, power and energy, and electronics.
Quick access to full text articles
Follow the full-text link from the database ("Find It" Button)