Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Electrical and Electronic Engineering: Databases & finding articles

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

Interlibrary loans

Key Engineering databases

For the complete list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to, use the Databases A-Z link

  • AccessEngineering
    An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.  Provides access to the latest editions of renowned engineering handbooks and textbooks.
  • Creamer Media's research channel: Africa
    Intelligence on industry and mining. (Logon codes needed. Call 021 808 4884 or email jsgserials@sun.ac.za)
  • DieselNet
    Engine & emission technology online—since 1997
  • Energy Transition Show
    Straight talk about the world’s transition from fossil fuels to renewables with energy expert Chris Nelder.
    First-time users must follow the instructions on the first page and in a follow-up email to activate an account and set their password. Once you have a password, use the Login button to access the resource.
  • Engineering Village: Compendex
    An interdisciplinary engineering and applied science database. Apart from all the engineering disciplines, coverage includes applied physics, astronomy, bioengineering, biotechnology,
    materials science and nanotechnology.
    YouTube training video and other training material
  • IEEE Xplore
    The IEEE Xplore digital library provides access to scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and its publishing partners. The content covers electrical engineering, computer science, biotechnology, telecommunications, power and energy, and electronics.
  • IET Digital Library

Useful general databases

Quick access to full text articles

  • Follow the full-text link from the database ("Find It" Button)
  • Search the A-Z list of our journals available online by journal title
  • Search article titles on Google Scholar (Activate access to SUN full text journals from the Google Scholar Settings)
  • Use Unpaywall to find legal free versions of articles
  • EndNote Click (formerly Kopernio) provides one-click access to millions of journal articles and academic research papers worldwide, improving and facilitating access to scholarly articles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search