Computer Science: Databases & finding articles

Alphabetical list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to.

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

For the complete list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to, use the Databases A-Z link

• ACM Digital Library
  A research, discovery and networking platform containing the full-text collection of all ACM (Association for Computer Machinery) publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
• Engineering Village: Compendex
  An interdisciplinary engineering and applied science database. Apart from all the engineering disciplines, coverage includes applied physics, astronomy, bio-engineering, biotechnology, materials science and nanotechnology.
  YouTube training video and other training material
• IEEE Xplore
  The IEEE Xplore digital library provides access to scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and its publishing partners. The content covers electrical engineering, computer science, biotechnology, telecommunications, power and energy, and electronics.
• MathSciNet
  An electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 125,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
• Science Direct
  A full-text scientific database of peer-reviewed journals and  a large selection of electronic books
• Scopus
  A comprehensive database of peer-reviewed literature. Features tools to analyze and visualize research.
  Training material
• Web of Science
  A large, broad-based abstracting database with direct links to journal articles. Also features bibliometrics tools to analyse results.
  Training material

I searched for information on Google Scholar, but when I clicked on the article it wants me to pay, what do I do now?

Try accessing Google Scholar via the library homepage, click on FIND, E-Databases and choose G for Google Scholar and conduct your search. Visiting Google Scholar this way, will automatically detect your Library Links preferences.
 

What is a Library Links preference on Google Scholar and how can I do it from home?

A Library Links preference allows you set your preferred Library Choice in Google Scholar. It will then automatically detect when an article is freely available via any of the electronic platforms that Stellenbosch University Library subscribes to. Use the guide below to change your Google Scholar settings on your own computer.