Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Business Management: BusMan 113 Assignment 2022

Topic

Conduct a SWOT analysis for a business of your choice. Also focus on the external (PESTLE) environment. Give a description of the Industry.

Identifying keywords - Step 1

Databases contains articles with information that will guide you to the answers you seek. Instead of searching with questions on databases, you have to search for information using KEYWORDS.

When extracting KEYWORDS from your assignment or essay, you need to look at the key concepts that encapsulate your assignment.

Example:

Is it true that economic growth makes the rich richer and the poor poorer?

KEYWORDS:

  • Economic growth
  • Inequality OR income inequality

Note: The concepts that you are looking for are not always expressed in the
language of the assignment or question, but often through other related terms.

See the Guide for step-by-step instructions.

Effective searching techniques - Step 2

AND – returns results with both keywords. AND usually limits the search results
OR – returns results with one or the other keyword.It broadens your results by connecting two or more synonyms.
NOT – returns results excluding specific keywords

Use the Boolean Machine for visualizing the effects of Boolean operators .

More tips:

Quotation Marks “ ” – keep keywords together, for exact phrase searching
Brackets ( ) – keep concepts together, used for synonyms

Example:

("green energy" OR "sustainable energy" OR "renewable energy") AND (logistics OR "supply chain")

Search Library webpage and databases - Step 3

Conduct a SWOT analysis for a business of your choice. Also focus on the external (PESTLE) environment. Give a description of the Industry.

Suggested Keywords:

"SWOT analysis"
"SWOT analysis" AND business of your choice
"PESTLE analysis"
"PESTLE analysis" AND business of your choice

Databases to use for articles:
EBSCOhost Business source Premier
Google Scholar

Databases to use for industry or companies information:
For information about your business, or companies with related business, search in the databases below:

Marketline, (MarketLine Advantage  profile all major companies, industries and geographies)
EBSCOhost Business Source Premier Companies profile
SA Media
 

Referencing and Plagiarism - Step 4

Harvard Stellenbosch A-Z examples - Use this Step-by-step guide and follow the examples

Referencing tips:

  • Know the Referencing Style that you are using
  • Make sure what you are referencing, different material types are displayed differently in the bibliography
  • Makes sure that your in-text citations match your bibliography
  • Most important, be CONSISTENT

Plagiarism:
Plagiarism is the theft and use of the ideas, material and other intellectual property of others that are passed off as one’s own. More information on plagiarism

EDP Topic

Discuss how Africa can attract investment to develop, grow and fight poverty.

Suggested keywords:
Africa AND investment AND poverty

Databases to use for articles:
EBSCOhost Business source Premier
Google Scholar

 Google Scholar settings

What is a Library Links preference on Google Scholar and how can I do it from home?

A Library Links preference allows you set your preferred Library Choice in Google Scholar. It will then automatically detect when an article is freely available via any of the electronic platforms that Stellenbosch University Library subscribes to. Use the guide below to change your Google Scholar settings on your own computer.

Faculty Librarian

Profile Photo
Hanlie Strydom
Contact:
Room 2045, Lower Level
Stellenbosch University Library
Private Bag X5036
7599
South Africa
+27 21 808 4424

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.