Library guides / Biblioteekgidse: Political Science: 2024 114 Assignment: 114 Opdrag

Assignment Pol Science 114

Essay : Choose two (2) South African political parties. Analyse their manifestoes and identify the ideological orientation of these parties. You must provide evidence to support your claim and explain why you associate a particular party with that ideology or ideologies.

Essay requirements:

• You must use at least six (6) sources.

• No Wikipedia, AI or similar resources are allowed for compiling or writing your essay. You will need to download, copy and paste the AI declaration at the end of the essay (after the bibliography), sign it and submit it as part of the essay.

• Length of the essay: +/- 3 typed pages of content (including the bibliography)

• Your essay must include a bibliography.

• Use the Harvard referencing method for in-text referencing and the bibliography.

• Add page numbers to the essay.

• Font: Arial 12

• Add the following information to the first page of your essay: A list of the databases that you used to find academic journal articles and the search words/strings that you used to find the information you had used in this essay.

• Give your essay an original title.

• No cover page and no content page

• Put your name and student number on the first page of the essay.

Opdrag: Kies twee Suid-Afrikaanse politieke partye. Ontleed hulle manifeste en identifiseer die ideologiese oriëntasie van elke party. Verskaf bewyse ter stawing van jou bewerings en verduidelik waarom jy die spesifieke party met daardie ideologie of ideologieë verbind.

Vereistes:

Jy moet van minstens ses bronne gebruik maak.
Geen Wikipedia, KI of soortgelyke hulpbronne word vir die saamstel of skryf van jou opstel toegelaat nie. Jy sal die KI-verklaring moet aflaai en kopieer en dit aan die einde van die opstel (ná die bibliografie) as deel van die opstel invoeg en onderteken.
Lengte: +/- 3 getikte bladsye inhoud (die bibliografie ingesluit)
Jou opstel moet ŉ bibliografie insluit.
Gebruik die Harvard-metode vir inteksverwysings en die bibliografie.
Voorsien die opstel van bladsynommers.
Lettertipe: Arial 12
Voeg die volgende inligting by die eerste bladsy van jou opstel: ŉ lys van die databasisse wat jy gebruik het om akademiese vaktydskrifartikels op te spoor en die soekwoorde/-stringe wat jy gebruik het om die inligting wat jy in hierdie opstel gebruik het, op te spoor.
Voorsien jou opstel van ŉ oorspronklike titel.
Geen voorblad en geen inhoudsblad nie
Plaas jou naam en studentenommer op die eerste bladsy van jou opstel.

Dr U Adams-Jack (From the module framework)

How to link Google Scholar on home computer to reflect library holdings of SU

Google Scholar settings to see SU holdings

SUGGESTED KEYWORDS

(anc OR "african national congress") and political culture

(anc OR "african national congress") and nationalism

(EFF OR economic feedom fighters) AND ideology AND "SOUTH AFRICA"

(EFF OR economic freedom fighters) AND populism

democratic alliance AND ideologies

"democratic alliance" AND democracy AND "SOUTH AFRICA"

democratic alliance AND “south Africa”

democratic alliance AND liberal constitutional democracy AND "SOUTH AFRICA"

Search with the party of your choice and your specific ideology or Your party with other keywords for example : AND "south africa"

Use AND to combine keywords Also see the Search Tips page on this guide for more tips on how to combine keywords and create keywords

Have a look at the videos on how to use the databases

Links to Databases / Skakels na Databasisse

Academic Search Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 3200 scholarly publications covering social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Google Scholar
See the pdf listed above how to see holdings from the SU Library articles by setting up your computer's Google Scholar.
JSTOR
Library catalogue - Boekkatalogus

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

Manifestos

You will find the manifestos on the homepage of each political party. I have added only the three main parties in South Africa. If you want to use any of the other parties Google the homepage of the party.

Jy sal die manifestos op die tuisbladsy van die onderskeie politieke partye kry. Ek het net die 3 hoof partye in Suid-Afrika hier gelys. Indien jy enige van die ander partye wil bespreek sal jy die party se tuisbladsy moet Google.