Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Botany & Zoology: Finding articles / Databases

Quick access to full text articles

1)  Follow the full-text link from databases, OR
2) Search A-Z list of e-journals by journal title, OR
3)  Search article titles on Google Scholar  

Internet Archive Scholar

Includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of 18th century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web

Search for print journals in the Library

Teaching Tools in Plant Biology

Teaching Tools in Plant Biology (Use Google Chrome)

Teaching Tools in Plant Biology, published by the American Society of Plant Biologists, combines up-to-date peer-reviewed research-based content with flexible presentation components 

Key databases for Botany and Zoology

Scopus 
Scopus from Elsevier is a comprehensive abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research
Scopus Tip & Trick: search smarter, find faster
More training material


Web of Science
Web of Science from Thomson Reuters provides access to Science Citation Index and Journal Citations Reports.  Also features bibliometrics tools to analyse results
Training material


Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) 
Open access to biodiversity legacy literature and taxonomic literature


CAB Direct
Comprehensive databases for the applied life sciences


ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters
Training material


JSTOR Global Plants
Global Plants lets herbaria share their plant type specimens and experts determine and update plant names. The database is an essential resource for institutions supporting research and teaching in botany, ecology, and conservation studies


* Search PATENTS  as an additional source for information


Full text South African and African journals
Searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. Also indexed in SCOPUS  and selected titles on Web of Science


SciFinder-n 
The choice for chemistry research: a one-stop search for: substances (editor for chemical structure drawing available), reactions, journal references, MethodsNow, retrosynthesis planning,  patents, and commercial source data.
Training tutorials

REGISTER for SciFinder-n access on campus with a SUN email
(Login problems? contact scifi@cas.org)

 

Need assistance with your literature review or searches?

Contact your Faculty librarian!

Requesting books and articles not available in SUN Libraries

Your book or article not in our library? 
Submit your interlibrary request online

Search for legislation in South Africa

SABINET Legal Platform
An expert team updates South African national, provincial and local legislation on a daily basis

bioRxiv

 

free online archive and distribution service for preprints in the life sciences and operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.

Create alerts to keep updated on your research topics