Please note that this list is not exhaustive, and that we are constantly adding new data sources.
African Development Indicators (World Bank)
Africa Development Indicators was a primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. No further updates of this database are currently planned. See World Development Indicators for more recent data on Africa
Africa Information Highway:
The Africa Information Highway (AIH) was developed by the Statistics Department of AfDB as part of the Bank’s statistical capacity building program (SCB) in Africa. AIH is a mega network of live open data platforms (ODPs) electronically linking all African countries and 16 regional organizations. The overall objective is to significantly increase public access to official and other statistics across Africa, while at the same time supporting African countries to improve data quality, management, and dissemination.
Afrobarometer is a pan-African, non-partisan research network that conducts public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, economic conditions, and related issues in more than 35 countries in Africa
Bureau of Economic Research (BER):
The database came into existence through the business survey for the BER in the retail, manufacturing and building-and-construction sectors. The data is used mainly to indicate confidence levels among business owners in the country, as well as other levels of business related issues (e.g. percentage shortage of skilled labour a constraint). In addition the BER has a library of research notes, comments and papers of economic relevance spanning the history of the South African economy
Bureau of Market Research (BMR):
The BMR maintains and has access to a substantial range of secondary data from various sources. Data searches can be undertaken in almost any marketing, economic or social field
Centre for Risk Analysis (Previously SAIRR):
The CRA provides its users with a complete spectrum of strategic intelligence reports, briefings, polls, scenarios, and bespoke advisory services on South Africa's rapidly evolving economic, social, policy and political climate. Have a look at their monthly Fast Facts as well as the South African Survey.
DataFirst is a Research Unit and Data Service based at the University of Cape Town, South Africa. We give researchers online access to survey and administrative microdata (data at unit record level) from South Africa and other African countries. We assist researchers to use the data via our online helpdesk and offer formal training courses in microdata analysis.
SARS Spatial Tax Panel Data:
Speak to EMS Librarians, Hanlie Strydom or Pepler Head for more information.
Statistics South Africa:
South African Census data and reports.
South African Reserve Bank:
Statistics from the South Africa Reserve Bank, includes baking sector information, composite business cycle indicators, economic and financial data for South Africa, external debt etc.
Wazimap provides useful facts about places in South Africa. Compare places using tables and maps, download data, and embed charts on your site, making census data easy to use.
Cape Farm Mapper:
From the WC dept of Agriculture - You can find information about property – from geographical information (boundaries, etc) to ownership (company names) to resources (climate, etc)
From the WC dept of Agriculture - you can choose between livestock and vegetable
From the WC dept of Agriculture - Agricultural statistics, price trends and reports
Alpha Vantage Stock API for Global Markets [Open web access]
This is a web-based resource covering 100,000+ international financial and economic datasets including stocks, ETF's, company financials, foreign exchange rates, and over 50 quantitative market signals. Multiple data querying methods are supported, including HTTP/ web access spreadsheets such as excel and Google Sheets. Stellenbosch University affiliates can reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org for technical assistance
Demographic & Health Surveys:
The DHS Program assists developing countries worldwide in the collection and use of data to monitor and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs
EU KLEMS is an industry level, growth and productivity research project. EU KLEMS EU level analysis of capital (K), labour (L), energy (E), materials (M) and service (S) inputs.
EU Open Data Portal:
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) gives you access to open data published by EU institutions and bodies. All the data you can find via this catalogue are free to use and reuse for commercial or non-commercial purposes.
Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings.
FAO FPMA Tool:
The FPMA Tool provides an easy way to access the large amounts of data present in the FAO database. It allows users to quickly browse single price series, create comparisons among countries/markets/commodities, download of charts, data and basic statistics such as averages, standard deviations and percentage changes.
Global Findex Database:
The Global Findex database is the world’s most comprehensive data set on how adults save, borrow, make payments, and manage risk.
International Monetary Fund Data:
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
The Global Economy:
TheGlobalEconomy.com serves researchers, academics, investors, and business people who need reliable economic data on foreign countries. They provide up-to-date numbers for GDP, inflation, credit, interest rates, employment, and many other indicators. The data series are updated continuously based on the release dates of individual countries.
The World Bank Data Catalog:
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
Trade statistics for international business development. Monthly, quarterly and yearly trade data. Import & export values, volumes, growth rates, market shares, etc.
World Development Indicators (World Bank):
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates
World Income Inequality Database (WIID):
The UNU-WIDER World Income Inequality Database ― widely known by its acronym WIID ― collects and stores information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries.
Kaggle Open Datasets:
Find open datasets and Machine learning projects. Open datasets on Arts and entertainment; Biology;Social science; Automobiles and Vehicles; Investing; Social networks etc.