Library guides / Biblioteekgidse: Music: Databases & Finding Articles

Databases A-Z list

Complete A-Z list
Alphabetical list of all the databases that the SU Library and Information Service subscribes to.

Submit your research to RILM

Did you know that you can submit your research to RILM?

Authors and editors of various publications (books, journals, etc.) can submit abstracts of their publications to RILM for better research visibility. To find out how, please see RILM or contact RILM South Africa representative Santie de Jongh (santiedj@sun.ac.za).

Your article will then feature in the RILM database (via EBSCOHost).

Open Access resources

Open Access publishing

Open Access publishing

Key databases for music

EBSCO

For music and general research (various disciplines).

EBSCO
Includes Academic Search Premier and RILM (RILM Abstracts of Music Literature and RILM Music Encyclopedias).
Includes options for variety of disciplines.
EBSCO: Academic Search Premier
General research.
EBSCO: RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Music abstracts and some full text.
more...less...
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) is a comprehensive bibliography of writings on music serving the global music research community. RILM has over 600,000 records in 214 languages from 151 countries. RILM covers all types of publications on music, in all media: books, journals, online resources, research-based sound recordings and films, dissertations, and more.

SABINET

Choose from (selection):

Combined Library Catalogues: WorldCat, SACat, SANB

SA Citations: Sabinet African Journals, ISAP

SA Cat Plus: SACat, SANB, African Digital Repository, Current & Completed Research, UCTD (Union Catalogue for Theses and Dissertations)

SA News: SA Media, SAPA

Theses & Dissertations: African Digital Repository, Current & Completed Research, NDLTD (Theses and Dissertations), UCTD (Union Catalogue for Theses and Dissertations)

Journal Articles: Sabinet African Journals, African Journal Archive, ISAP

FirstSearch: ArticleFirst, Electronic Books, Electronic Collections Online, ERIC, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat Dissertations and Theses

Open Access Content: Open Access Journal Collection, African Journal Archive, African Digital Repository

African Studies Collection: Sabinet African Journals, ISAP, African Journal Archive, SA Media, SACat, SANB, Current & Completed Research, African Digital Repository

OXFORD MUSIC ONLINE

Grove Music Online (via Oxford Music Online)

PROQUEST

Music Periodicals Database

JSTOR

JSTOR
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.

Other useful databases

NEXUS

Nexus
Current and Completed Research Projects Database (South African dissertations and theses. Limited number of records contains links to the full-text.)
National ETD Portal (access to full-text South African theses and dissertations)
NRF Funded Projects Database
Forthcoming Conferences Databases
South African Professional Associations Database
Nexus: Database search request form
Nexus contact details

PRESSREADER

Provides online access to over 7 200 newspapers and magazines, including more than 200 from South Africa. Available on any smartphone, tablet or laptop. Articles or full publications may be downloaded to be read when offline.

SCOPUS

Scopus
Limited for music. Useful for: interdisciplinary studies, journal statistics, author statistics.

STATISTICS SOUTH AFRICA

Statistics South Africa
Useful for demographic information on South Africa.

How to find articles (Wise Oak)

Find articles (Library Search)

Boolean operators

Improve your search strategy
Boolean logic consists of three logical operators:
AND -- OR -- NOT

Google and Google Scholar

How to search Google & Google Scholar

Searching with Keenious

Keenious
'Keenious analyzes your text - as you write - finding the most relevant research every step of the way ...'

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Music: Databases & Finding Articles