Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Research Methodology: Health and Rehabilitation: Finding articles

A guide for students of the Faculty of Medicine & health Sciences (created for Research Methodology module)

Step-by-step guide

How do I do my assignment? To find, access and use information effectively use the step-by-step guide.

The Find, access and use information effectively: a step-by-step guide and training tutorials and videos will empower you to find academic information specific to your studies or research. They will also assist you to question and evaluate information, show you how to reference, to comply with copyright and avoid plagiarism.

Lighting Your Way From Research to Writing: 10 modules from University of North Carolina at Greensboro

A 10 module research tutorial created under by the University of North Carolina at Greensboro to assist in all stages of the research process.

Especially look at the one on Choosing a topic

  • After completing these tutorials you should be able to
  • determine an appropriate research question
  • choose keywords and find relevant information
  • identify and select the right type of information and sources
  • compose and revise effective search strategies
  • understand the difference between popular and scholarly journal articles
  • evaluate websites for appropriateness as information sources
  • recognize the importance of documenting sources
  • identify and recognize the importance of documenting sources

Source credit: PATH: Lighting Your Way From Research to Writing by UNCG Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License

Learn about Boolean logic

Search smarter, search faster, a video from the University of Sydney:
 

A Boolean Searching Library guide from Athabasca University:  Tips for searching with Boolean logic. and learn how to conduct phrase searching.

How do I?

Library Help

Databases, search strategies & finding of articles

Search Strategies

Starting out 

Truncation & Boolean Logic

Formulate your search strategy > Search builder

Databases
The databases listed below along with your search strategy will give you articles relevant to occupational therapy.

Subject specific databases

Africa-Wide: NiPAD - EBSCOhost  (incorporating South African Studies and African Studies)
CINAHL- EBSCOhost
Cochrane Library - Wiley
Pubmed 
Scopus

Limit your search according to your research topic,  Use the Export  & print options
Elements of journal article reference , Full-text vs bibliographic databases.

Find articles

E-Journals >  electronic full text journals in our collection. Embargo, Open & download fulltext

Google Scholar > differs from other general search engines > academic, authoritive, Check your Google Scholar settings for our holdings.

Interlibrary loan service  for hard to find articles not in the library collection.


Plagiarism

How do I use information responsibly?

Turnitin resource

Make sense of referencing: from Stellenbosch University Language Centre

 

 

 

 

 

 

How do I get to the full-text articles?

Learn about scholarly journals

Faculty librarian

Profile Photo
Ingrid van der Westhuizen
Contact:
PO Box 19091, Tygerberg, 7505
+2721 21 938 9435
Website

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Older journals in print