Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Research Methodology: Health and Rehabilitation: Occupational Therapy Home

A guide for students of the Faculty of Medicine & health Sciences (created for Research Methodology module)

Step-by-step guide

How do I do my assignment? To find, access and use information effectively, use the step-by-step guide.

The Library and Information Service offers a wide range of group training sessions with the main focus on enhancing the information literacy skills of all students at Stellenbosch University. A framework for Information Literacy was contemplated and accepted in 2014 to provide structure for an effective information literacy skills training program. The framework describes the development of different levels of information literacy competency.

Overview

 

Welcome to our information literacy sessions!

The Research process typically includes five broad steps.  We'll touch on all of these, in various depths as we go along, but our main focus will be on steps 1, 2 and 5.

 

This guide was developed to help you, as a health and rehabilitation student, during and after our contact sessions where the outcomes will be

  • Navigational. You'll learn
     
    • how to navigate through the library website.
    • how to use  the search functionality on the Library website to search for books and other material in the Library collection.
    • what  bibliographic and full-text databases are; how to effectively use Pubmed, Scopus & other relevant databases with various search strategies, including identifying keywords for your search, building effective search strategies using various tools such as PICOBoolean operators, to find relevant information and save you time.
    • identify elements in a citation and how to find & get academic resources in hard copy and electronic format.
       
  • Content assessment and collection. You'll learn how to
     
    • decide which sources could be relevant.
    • choose, collect, save, export or print them.
       
  • Citation and reference management. You'll learn how to
     
    • use the Mendeley bibliographic management program, which can help you to organise & share references (collaborate) and also format your paper and bibliography in the style of choice, such as Vancouver
    • avoid plagiarism.

 

 

Ask Us

Faculty librarian

Ingrid van der Westhuizen's picture
Ingrid van der Westhuizen
Contact:
PO Box 19091, Tygerberg, 7505
+2721 21 938 9435
Website