Understand your assignmentFind Background InformationIdentify KeywordsRefine topicControlled Vocabularly
Search StrategyFind BooksLocate and access BooksFind ArticlesFind WebsitesFind other sources (grey literature and conference proceedings)Find full-text articlesFind different media, formats and social media
Evaluate SourcesPrimary vs. Secondary SourcesTypes of Periodicals
ParaphrasingNotetaking
PlagiarismTurnitinReferencingCopyrightReference management tools
Referencing elementsHarvard (Stellenbosch) examples A-ZAPAOther Referencing StylesUse responsibly: Why cite and reference?
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Find, access and use information effectively: a step-by-step guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find, access and use information effectively: a step-by-step guide  

Find, access and use information effectively: a step-by-step guide
Last Updated: Oct 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/StepbyStep Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for Articles

Search SU libraries for Articles

Find peer reviewed articles in SUNSearch

Click on FIND on the top menu bar of the library homepage (http://library.sun.ac.za) and select Articles from the dropdown menu, or search the search box below. SUNSearch will tell you what articles we have that correspond with the search terms (keywords) you used.

 

Off-campus access

Off-campus e-access to the article databases and to electronic journals is available to currently registered students and currently employed staff of the Stellenbosch University. Use your campus username and password when asked to log in.

 

Articles

Articles can be sourced from different types of publications:

  • Newspapers are commercial periodicals that are issued on a regular basis featuring current events as well as opinion and advertising. Newspapers seek to inform, explain, influence and entertain readers.
  • Magazines provide a broad overview of current events and popular topics. The articles are written by journalists for the general public and are usually not considered to be as reliable as academic journals since they are not required to list the sources of their information. 
  • Academic Journals (also called scholarly or peer-reviewed journals) contain the latest research in a particular field of study. The articles are written by experts in that field and are usually peer-reviewed, meaning that they have been reviewed by other experts in the field before being accepted for publication.

Read more about types of periodicals.

 

Electronic Journals

e-Journals A-Z list

Alphabetical list of all the electronic journals that the SU Library Service subscribes to.

 

Journals not available electronically

If a journal is not available electronically, check SUNSearch to see if the Library subscribes to the print version.

SUNSearch will provide the shelf number where you can find the journal. Journals are kept on the upper or lower level (depending on the shelf number) on shelves with brown disks on the side.

 

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

 

Choosing a database

Article databases provide you with 24/7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles via the Internet. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:

  • consult the database descriptions on the Library's Database A-Z page
  • consult a Subject Guide for your specific subject to see which databases are recommended by your faculty librarian.

Use a database (see boxes below). To access the electronic databases that Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service has access to,  click on FIND on the top menu bar of the library homepage (http://library.sun.ac.za) and select E-databases from the dropdown menu. See insert from website below.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip