Find, access and use information effectively: a step-by-step guide: APA

APA

Abstract

Lee, S.T. (1986). The semantics of advertising [Abstract]. Psychology Today, 19, 34-37.

(Lee, 1986).

Acts, Laws & Statutes (legislation)

Republic of South Africa. (2000). National Youth Commission Amendment Act 19 of 2000. Pretoria, South Africa: Government Printer.

Note:
If this source is available electronically, work according to the guidelines for electronic referencing.

According to the National Youth Commission Amendment Act 19 of 2000 (Republic of South Africa, 2000), young people are also entitled to be treated with respect and dignity.

Annual report

General Motors. (2002). 2001 Annual report. Detroit, MI: General motors.

Sales have doubled since the turn of the century (General Motors, 2002).

Archive material (Special collections)

Coates, Albert. (1946). The Boy David [Manuscript]. Albert Coates collection. PDV2. Documentation Centre for Music (DOMUS), Stellenbosch University.

(Coates, 1946)

Article: Periodical - vol & number

Jawitz, J. (1995). Performance in first- and second-year engineering at UCT. South African Journal of Higher Education, 9(1), 101–108. doi:10.xxxxxx

Note:

The title of the journal is italicized and not the title of the article.
When doi isn’t available use: Retrieved from http://full URL. No retrieval date is necessary.
The abbreviation “pp.” is not used in the reference list to indicate page numbers – the comma directly after the volume and issue numbers fulfils this function.

Higher education institutions admit students to tertiary study on the basis of their matriculation results, since these are seen as adequate indicators of academic success (Jawitz, 1995).

or:

Jawitz (1995) underwrites the decision of higher education institutions to admit students on the basis of their matriculation results, since it is seen as adequate indicators of academic success.

Harlow, H. F. (1983). Fundamentals for preparing psychology journal articles. Journal of Comparative and Physiological Psychology, 55, 893–896.

Article: Periodical - vol, number & month

Lee, S.T. (1986). The semantics of advertising. Psychology Today, 19(3), 34-37.

According to Lee (1968), the main objective of advertising is…

According to Petrić (2007), a number of rhetorical functions of citations could be identified.

(Nell, 2011)

Cobo, L. 2001. Team songwriting: Boon or bane?, Billboard, 113(32), 1, 11 August.

Cobo (2001) emphasizes the history and nature of songwriting collaboration.

The hot box. 2012. Billboard, 124(26), 29, 4 August.

Anthony, Elmarine. (2016, June 16) Diepste pikkewyn-duik vasgelê. Die Burger, p. 3.
Note:
The article in the titles of newspapers or magazines can be omitted.
Precede page numbers for newspaper articles with p. or pp.
If an article appears on discontinuous pages, give all page numbers, and separate the numbers with a comma (e.g., pp. B1, B3, B5–B7).

Penguins can dive deeper than 200 metres (Anthony, 2016).

Anthony (2016) indicates that penguins can dive deeper than 200 metres.

Diepste pikkewyn-duik vasgelê. (2016, June 16). Die Burger, p. 3.

Penguins can dive deeper than 200 metres (Diepste pikkewyn-duik vasgelê, 2016).

Note:

Penguins can dive deeper than 200 metres (Die Burger, 2016).

(Merryment, 2006)

or:

Merryment (2006) discusses the role of wine in ...

Rasmussen, C. (Ed). (2010). Zondervan atlas of the Bible. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan.

(Rasmussen, 2010, Map 36)

As can be seen in the RSA atlas (1996, Map 36), ...

or:

As can be seen in the the Western Cape (RSA atlas, 1996, Map 36) the ...

Orr, D. M. (2000). The North Carolina atlas: Portrait for a new century. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina Press.

As can been seen in the North Carolina Atlas (Orr, 2000) the environment changes ...

APA

Bible (religious text)

Nelson, T. (ed.). (1994). Holy Bible: The New King James Version. Philadelphia: Pew Library.
Note:
For For your first citation, identify the version which you used.

Blog (Web log)

Possible 9-foot model of Brunelleschi's dome found. (2013, January 14). The History Blog [Web log post]. Retrieved from: http://www.thehistoryblog.com/archives/22791  (14.01.2013)

Blog (Web log) - author

Olivier, H. (2013, July 24). Klei-klank soundtrack 2011: Hannelore Olivier and Laura du Toit. Critical landscapes blog [Web log post]. Retrieved from: http://criticallandscapesblog.wordpress.com/author/hanneloreoli4/ (14.01.2013)

Book: One author

Weideman, A.J. (2003). Academic literacy: Prepare to learn. Pretoria: Van Schaik.

Davies, A., Brown, A., Elder, C., Hill, K., Lumley, T. & McNamara, T. (1999). Dictionary of language testing. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

For first reference in text:
Coherence is an aspect of discourse competency that refers to the sequence of continuity of ideas in written or spoken texts (Davies, Brown, Elder, Hill, Lumley & McNamara, 1999).

Advertising in the Western Cape. (1995). Cape Town: ABC Publishers.

Anderson, P.K. (Ed.). (1993). Encyclopedia of Renewable Energy. San Fransisco: Pegasus.

or

Anderson, P.K. (Red.). (1993). Encyclopedia of Renewable Energy. San Fransisco: Pegasus.
Note:
(Ed.) is the English abbreviation for editor. If your text is written in Afrikaans, you will write (Red.) instead of (Ed.).

Hydro energy is one example of renewable energy (Anderson, 1993).

Anderson (1993) lists hydro energy as an example of renewable energy.

Barnard, C. revised by Brewer, C. (Ed.). 1993. The second life: Memoirs. Cape Town: Vlaeberg.

(Barnard 1993)

Independent Television Commission. (1988). The ITC code of advertising standards and practice. London.

(Independent Television Commission, 1988)

Blanton, L.L. (1994). Discourse, artefacts and the ozarks: Understanding academic literacy. In V. Zamel & R. Spack (Eds.). Negotiating academic literacies: Teaching and learning across languages and cultures (pp. 235-319), New Jersey: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

Note:

Use the appropriate abbreviation for one or more editors (English and Afrikaans examples):

One editor - (Ed.)  - (Red.)

More than one editor - (Eds.) - (Reds.)

The main implication is that texts should require interaction with the focus on negotiation of meaning within specific contexts (Blanton, 1994).

According to Blanton (1994), the main implication is that tests should require interaction with the focus on negotiation of meaning within specific contexts.

Sergardi, L. (1994). The Satires. (R.E. Pepin, Trans.). New York: P. Lang.

(Sergardi, trans. 1994)

Schroeder, L.B. (2003). The evolution of women. Unpublished manuscript. Morris: University of Minnesota Morris.

Manuscript in progress or submitted for publication:

Schroeder, L.B. (2003). The evolution of women. Manuscript submitted for publication. Morris: University of Minnesota Morris.

(Schroeder, 2003)

Eddy, C.M. (2018, November 17). Mathematics for all: From fantasy to reality. [Review of the book Sociopolitical dimensions of mathematics education: From the margin to the mainstream, by M. Jurdak & R. Vithal]. Educational Studies in Mathematics, 99(3), 359-362. doi10.1007/s10649-018-9837-0

(Eddy, 2018)

Dickson, Barney, Bertzky, Monika, Christophersen, Tim, Epple, Cordula, , Kapos, Valerie, Narloch, Ulf & Trumper, Kate. (2012). REDD+ beyond carbon: Supporting decisions on safeguards and multiple benefits. UN-REDD Programme policy brief,(2) [Online]. Retrieved from: http://www.unredd.net/index.php?option=com_docman&task=doc_download&gid=8533&Itemid=53 (12.06.2015)

For first reference in text:

According to Dickson et al. (2012) ...

For all subsequent references in text: Dickson et al. (2012)

Osinowo, Adeniyi Adejimi. (2015). Combating piracy in the Gulf of Guinea. Africa Security Brief, 30, February [Online]. Retrieved from: http://africacenter.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/ASB-30-Feb-2015-Combating-Piracy-in-GoG.pdf  (12.06.2015)

Osinowo (2015) ...

Le May, G.H.L. (1967). South Africa: The future. Cape Town: C.A. Algar.

Note:

If non routine information is important for identification and retrieval, provide it in brackets immediately after the title:

Le May, G.H.L. (1967). South Africa: The future [Brochure]. Cape Town, South Africa: C.A. Algar.

(Le May, 1967)

Staatkundige hervorming in Suid-Afrika. (1989). Pretoria: Buro vir Inligting.

(Staatkundige hervorming in Suid-Afrika, 1989)

APA

Catalogue

Alborough, A. (2002). Collective works (catalogue). Stellenbosch: Sasol Art Museum.

(Alborough, 2002)

CD-ROM

Odendal, F.F. & Gouws, R.H. (2000). Elektroniese Verklarende Handwoordeboek van die Afrikaanse Taal [CD-ROM]. Available: Perskor [2007, September 20].
Note:
If the information on the author(s) is not available, the title is listed first.

Odendal and Gouws (2000) define pride as an excessive feeling of self-worth or an overestimation of the self.

Class lectures

Van Dyk, T.J. (2013). Akademiese Geletterdheid EOT 151-154. Class lecture (Akademiese taalvaardigheid 151-154). Stellenbosch: Stellenbosch University.
Note:
The title of an unpublished work is not italicised.

A consequence of insufficient levels of academic literacy is that, among others, first-year university students do not successfully complete their studies in the minimum time allowed (Van Dyk, 2013).

Commentaries, religious (Bible)

Dunn, J.D.G. (1988). Word Biblical commentary: Romans 1-8. vol. 38a. Dallas: Word Books.

Commentaries, religious, chapter (Bible)

George, T. (1994). History: No other gospel (1:1-2:21). In T. George, The new American commentary: Galatians. vol. 30 (pp. 67-202) Nashville, TN: Broadman and Holman Publishers.

Commentaries, religious, chapter (Bible)

Craddock, F.B. (1998). Hebrews 10:19-39, Life in response to this ministry of Christ. In L.E.Keck, The new interpreter's Bible in twelve volumes, vol. XII. (pp. 67-200) Nashville, TN: Abingdon Press.

Computer game

Core Design. (1996). Tomb Raider [PC Game]. Wimbledon: Eidos Interactive.

Academic language proficiency develops over a period of time (Coetzee & Van Dyk, 2006).

In their study Coetzee and Van Dyk (2006) confirm that academic language proficiency develops over a period of time.

Academic language proficiency develops over a period of time (Coetzee & Van Dyk, 2006).

Coetzee and Van Dyk (2006) found that academic language proficiency develops over a period of time.

Mobile technology is more widely used in business (Basole, 2007).

Basole, R.C. (2007, September). The emergence of the mobile enterprise: A value-driven perspective. Paper presented at the Sixth International Conference on Mobile Technologies. Ontario, CA. doi:10.xxx/xxxxx/xx

Mobile technology is more widely used in business (Basole, 2007).

APA

Dance (live performance)

South African National Ballet. (2013, January 27). Giselle. Live performance in Maynardville Theatre, Cape Town.

Database: Journal (periodical) article

Petrić, B. (2007). Rhetorical functions of citations in high- and low-rated master's theses. Journal of English for Academic Purposes, 6(3), 238-253. Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1475158507000379.

According to Petrić (2007), a number of rhetorical functions of citations could be identified.

A number of rhetorical functions of citations could be identified (Petrić, 2007).

Data sets (Internet)

Statistics South Africa. (2012). Census 2011: Statistical release [Data set]. Retrieved from http://www.statssa.gov.za/publications/P03014/P030142011.pdf

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (2013).
or
(U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 2013).

Diagram, Image, Figure (Book)

Donald, D., Lazarus, S. & Moolla, N. (2014). Educational psychology in social context: Ecosystemic applications in Southern Africa (5th Ed.). Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press.

Note:

Figures refers to diagrams, graphs, flow charts, maps, drawings, photographs.

Figure 1: Maslow's hierarchy of needs. Adapted from Educational psychology in social context (p. 121), by D. Donald, S. Lazarus & N. Moolla, 2014, Oxford: Oxford University Press. Copyright 2014 by Oxford University Press.

Figure 1: Maslow's hierarchy of needs. Adapted from "Developing your child's talent in the real world: Dealing with the Juxtaposition between ideal and actual gifted education," by J.R. Cross, 2007, Gifted Child Today, 30(4), p. 54. Copyright 2007 by Sage Periodicals Inc.

Figure 1: Maslow's hierarchy of needs, In Simply Psychology, 2014, Retrieved October 28, 2015, from www.simplypsychology.org/maslow.html. Copyright 2007 by Saul McLeod.

Dictionary entry, specific entry (Online dictionary, no author or editor)

Anxiety. (2012). In Merriam-Webster's collegiate(R) dictionary. Retrieved from http://ez.sun.ac.za/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com.ez.sun.ac.za/content/entry/mwcollegiate/anxiety/0

Dictionary (encyclopedia) entry

Phobia. (2007). In R. Allen (Ed.), The Penguin English Dictionary. London, UK: Penguin. Retrieved from http://ez.sun.ac.za/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com.ez.sun.ac.za/content/entry/penguineng/phobia/0

Dictionary (encyclopedia) entry, author contribution

Bell, R.T. 1998. Psycholinguistic/cognitive approaches. In M. Baker (Ed.), Routledge encyclopedia of translation studies (pp. 185-190). London, UK: Routledge.

Dictionary (encyclopedia) entry, electronic source

Van der Aalsvoort, G.M. (2010). Early social development and schooling. In P. Peterson, E. Baker & B. McGaw (Eds.), Internation Encyclopedia of Education, (3rd ed., Vol. 8, pp. 585-590). Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com.ez.sun.ac.za/science/referenceworks/9780080448947

Van der Aalsvoort (2010) gives a broad overview of early social development and schooling.

Digital Object Identifier (DOI)

Nell, I.A. (2011). Embodied leadership: Paradigm shifts in the leadership of a local URCSA congregation. Nederduitse Gereformeerde Teologiese Tydskrif, 52(1), 148-160, doi:10.5952/52-1-13 (no full-stop after DOI)
Note:
DOI by International DOI Foundation.

Discography (sound recordings)

Bach, J.S. (1981). Concerto 2 F-dur, BWV 1047 [Recorded by Concentus Musicus Wien]. On Brandenburgische Konzerte 2, 5, 6 auf Originalinstrumenten 1721.  [CD]. Hamburg: Telefunken.

Note:

Composer, A.A. [OR Writer, B.B.] (Year of copyright). Title of song OR work [Recorded by C.C. Artist if different from writer or composer]. On Title of album [Medium of recording: CD, Record, Cassette, etc.]. Location: Label. (Date of recording if different from copyright date).

"Concerto 2 F-dur, BWV 1047" (Bach, 1981, track 5).

Dissertation, Doctoral (unpublished)

De Boer, A. (1992). Akademiese steungewing gebaseer op 'n behoeftebepaling vir die Technikon Noord-Transvaal. (Unpublished doctoral dissertation). Pretoria, Suid-Afrika: University of Pretoria.

Dissertation, Doctoral (Institutional database)

Tallent, C.N. (2011). The referral process: Rural primary care physicians' perspectives on providing counseling referrals. Available from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. (UMI No. 3466259).

Dissertations, Theses (Institutional repository)

Ramuhala, M.G. (2010). Military intervention in Africa after the Cold War. (Unpublished Master's thesis, Stellenbosch University, South Africa. Retrieved from http://hdl.handle.net/10019.1/4186

URL:
Use persistent links from Institutional Repository for theses and dissertations.

APA

E-book

Freud, S. (1953). The psychology of dream processes. In J. Strachey (Ed. & Trans.), The standard edition of the complete psychological works of Sigmund Freud (vol. 5, pp. 509-621). Retrieved from http://books.google.com/books (Original work published 1900)

The untrustworthiness of our memory makes it difficult to interpret dreams (Freud, 1953).

E-book (via E-book reader)

McKeown, G. (2014). Essentialism: The disciplined pursuit of less [Kindle DX version]. Retrieved from http://www.amazon.com

Note:

Use date of Kindle edition.

McKeown (2014) focuses on what must be done to increase success.

E-mail (Correspondence)

Personal communication such as e-mail provide not recoverable data and should not be included in the reference list, but only in the text. Give the initials and surname of the communicator and as far as possible, the exact date.

(APA, p. 179).

Permission is granted to use the pattern (personal communication, M. Joyce, January 13, 2001).

The chief executive of Intermountain Therapy, M. Joyce (personal communication, M. Joyce, January 13, 2001) gave his permission to use the pattern.

Electronic database: Journal article

Petrić, B. (2007). Rhetorical functions of citations in high- and low-rated master's theses. Journal of English for Academic Purposes, 6(3), 238-253. Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1475158507000379

According to Petrić (2007), a number of rhetorical functions of citations could be identified.

A number of rhetorical functions of citations could be identified (Petrić, 2007).

Electronic database: Newspaper article

Meryment, E. (2006, October 7). Distaff winemakers raise a glass of their own. The Australian, p. 10. Retrieved from http://www.dowjones.com/factiva/

(APA, p. 200).

(Merryment, 2006).

Electronic source: Class notes

Johnson, K. (2007). Psychology 114 Class notes. [Lecture notes]. Retrieved from http://www.sun.ac.za/webstudies

Johnson (2007) is of the opinion that the basic principles of bahaviourism is still relevant.

Electronic source: Dictionary entry

Phobia. (2007). In R. Allen (Ed.), The Penguin English Dictionary. London, UK: Penguin. Retrieved from http://ez.sun.ac.za/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com.ez.sun.ac.za/content/entry/penguineng/phobia/0

Phobia (2007).

Electronic source: Website

Herzog, H. (2015, April 13). Why people care more about pets than other humans. Wired. Retrieved from https://www.wired.com/2015/04/people-care-pets-humans/

(APA, example 9, p. 200).

Pet owners thin of their dogs and cats as members of the family (Herzog, 2015)

Electronic source: Website (no author)

Trauma. (2012). In Merriam-Webster's collegiate(R) dictionary. Retrieved from http://ez.sun.ac.za/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com.ez.sun.ac.za/content/entry/mwcollegiate/trauma/0

(APA, example 30, p. 205).

(Trauma, 2012)

Encyclopedia entry

The New James's Encyclopedia for Fighting Ships. (2001). London: Prentice Hall.

A periscope can be defined as ... (The New James's Encyclopedia for Fighting Ships, 2001).

The New James's Encyclopedia for Fighting Ships (2001) defines a periscope as ...

Encyclopedia entry, author contribution

Fawcett, P. (1998). Linguistic approaches, in M. Baker (Ed.). Routledge encyclopedia of translation studies (pp. 21-32). London, UK: Routledge.

(Fawcett, 1998).

Encyclopedia entry: volume number

Kinkeldey, O. (1957). Chinese music, in Yust (editor in chief), Encyclopædia Britannica, vol. 5. Great Britain: Encyclopædia Britannica, Ltd. 574-575.

The foundation of the lü-system was a set of measured pitch pipes that were specifically calculated and charged with cosmological significance (Kinkeldey 1957).

Josselson, R. (2010) Narrative research. In N.J. Salkind (Ed.), Encyclopedia or research design (Vol. 2, pp. 869-874). thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications.
(APA, p. 202).

Encyclopedia entry, electronic source

Sutton, R. A. (2010). ‘South-east Asia’, in Grove music online. Oxford Music Online [Electronic]. Retrieved from  http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com:80/subscriber/article/grove/music/43742

Anderson Sutton (2010) gives a broad overview of South-East Asian tuning systems.

Cherniss, C. (2004). Intelligence, emotional. In C. Spielberger (Ed.), Encyclopedia of applied psychology. Retrieved from http://ez.sun.ac.za/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com.ez.sun.ac.za/content/entry/estappliedpsyc/intelligence_emotional/0

(APA, p. 202).

APA

Journals

See Articles (A)

See Articles (A)

APA

Periodicals

See Articles (A)

See Articles (A)

APA

Reports

National Department of Health. (2015). Guidelines for maternity care in South Africa: A manual for clinics, community health centres and district hospitals (4th ed.). Pretoria, South Africa: National Department of Health.

(National Department of Health, 2015).