Skip to Main Content
  • Library AND Information Service

Special Collections: Home

This guide provide information on Special Collections, consisting of Africana, Rare Books and Manuscripts and DOMUS, including usage and policies

Opening hours

​Monday - Friday: 08:00-16:30
​​​​​​Saturday: Closed
​Special Collections is closed on all public holidays and between Christmas and New Year.

Social Media

Welcome to Special Collections

​The Library and Information Service acquired a substantial collection of rare and valuable books, documents, manuscripts and other material over many years by way of bequests, donations and purchases. Special Collections is located on the upper level of the Stellenbosch University Library, the central library of the Library and Information Service.

This division of the library has as its primary mission the acquisition and preservation of rare materials, making it accessible to clients as well as preserving it for posterity. The division consists of three sections in the main library namely Manuscripts, Africana and Rare Books and DOMUS in the Music Library.  Each of these sections provides a specialised service and concentrates on specific areas of interest.

 

Using Special Collections

  • Special Collections is open to students, staff and other members of the Stellenbosch University community, as well as to members of the public, for research purposes and visits.
  • This is a closed collection and no material may be borrowed or leave Special Collections
  • The space is reserve for researchers using Special Collection material
  • Clients request material from the staff member on duty who will collect it for them.
  • Valuable material may be consulted by clients under the supervision of the staff member on duty and clients may be requested to handle the material in a specific way, e.g. by wearing cotton gloves.
  • Reproduction of selected material is allowed depending on value, age and physical condition of the material. Please enquire from the staff member on duty whether reproduction is allowed.
  • The use of digital cameras in the division is allowed under specific circumstances

Staff

Marieta Buys

Head: Special Collections

Telephone: 021 808 4930

Patricia Khati

Librarian: Manuscripts

Telephone: 021 808 4012

Busiswa Mofu

Librarian: Manuscripts

Telephone: 021 808 4881

 Pakama Ncume

Librarian: Africana

Telephone: 021 808 4885