Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Special Collections: Africana

This guide provide information on Special Collections, consisting of Africana, Rare Books and Manuscripts and DOMUS, including usage and policies

HERITAGE MONTH

Book of the month

Africana during the COVID-19 period

  • Special Collections  is accessible to students and staff of Stellenbosch University
  • Researchers allowed by appointment only.
  • Email us at jsgspes@sun.ac.za with your request or to book a visit

NOTICE

Please note that the Africana Room is undergoing maintenance and will be inaccessible from 13 July to about the end of September 2022.

About Africana

Africana consists of a collection of valuable books, pamphlets, maps, pictorial works and other items on sub-Saharan Africa, with specific focus on Southern African history.

  •  Africana books are mainly associated with sub-Saharan Africa and its history

  • The collection preserves works dating from the 17th century, but is also continually augmented with new acquisitions reflecting current history.

  • The section strives to build a collection relevant to current academic research and collects works worthy of preserving for the future.

  • The comprehensive Africana collection available in this section today is largely based on the unique and valuable Hugh Solomon library which was bequeathed to Stellenbosch University in 1957. Hugh Ross Solomon (1876-1956) was a Johannesburg lawyer who for many years added to the Africana collection which he had inherited from his father, Sir Edward Philip Solomon