-
- Library AND Information Service
-
SUNScholar Data powered by Figshare
Research Data Management Library Guide
SUNScholarData Library Guide
Research Data Services Manager: Samuel Simango Tel +27 21 808 9489
The citation advantage of linking publications to open research data
The Data Book by
The Data Book: Collection and Management of Research Data is the first practical book written for researchers and research team members covering how to collect and manage data for research. The book covers basic types of data and fundamentals of how data grow, move and change over time. Focusing on pre-publication data collection and handling, the text illustrates use of these key concepts to match data collection and management methods to a particular study, in essence, making good decisions about data. The first section of the book defines data, introduces fundamental types of data that bear on methodology to collect and manage them, and covers data management planning and research reproducibility. The second section covers basic principles of and options for data collection and processing emphasizing error resistance and traceability. The third section focuses on managing the data collection and processing stages of research such that quality is consistent and ultimately capable of supporting conclusions drawn from data. The final section of the book covers principles of data security, sharing, and archival. This book will help graduate students and researchers systematically identify and implement appropriate data collection and handling methods.--
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Big Data, Big Challenges: a Healthcare Perspective by
This is the first book offering a comprehensive, yet concise, view on both the challenges and opportunities related to the use of big data in health care. The different chapters report on different perspectives: from health management to patient safety; from the human factor perspective to the ethical and economic ones, and more. By providing a historical background on the use of big data, and critically analyzing current approaches together with issues and challenges related to their applications, the work presented not only sheds light on the problems of big data, but also paves the way for possible solutions and future research directions. The book offers a useful reference guide to health information technology professionals, healthcare managers, healthcare practitioners, and patients alike, helping them in their decision making processes, as well as to students and academicians learning or dealing with data science related research issues in healthcare.
SUNScholar Data powered by Figshare
SUNScholarData Library Guide
Other available data repositories
DRYAD a repository for mainly life sciences and biomedical data
FAIRDOMHub a repository for publishing FAIR (Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable) data, operating procedures and models for the systems biology community
Protocols.io a repository for scientific methods
Network Repository. An Interactive Scientific Network Data Repository
RedCap (Research Electronic Data Capture) at SU
REDCap is a secure web platform for building and managing online databases and surveys. REDCap's streamlined process for rapidly creating and designing projects offers a vast array of tools that can be tailored to virtually any data collection strategy.
REDCap provides automated export procedures for seamless data downloads to Excel and common statistical packages (SPSS, SAS, Stata, R), as well as a built-in project calendar, a scheduling module, ad hoc reporting tools, and advanced features, such as branching logic, file uploading, and calculated fields
NextJournal - a notebook designed to make complex Data Science painless
Data Nudge A newsletter with useful tips!
DMP necessary for a grant or informal; Saves frustration later on!
Usually includes information on:
Data description & formats, Storage & Security; Data Sharing; Preservation
