Library guides / Biblioteekgidse: History: Finding articles

Databases A-Z list

Alphabetical list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to.

Complete A-Z list

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

Key databases for History

For the complete list of databases use the Databases A-Z link

If the full text of an article is not available on a particular database, use the link below the reference to find out whether the article is available in full text elsewhere on the SU network.

If an article is not available at SU, it can be requested from another library via the Interlibrary loan request form. This form is also available on the library homepage under Quick links.

Academic Search Premier
Provides full-text for nearly 3200 scholarly publications covering social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
African Newspaper Series 1:1800 - 1922
More than 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English and foreign-language titles titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
African Newspaper Series 2: 1835 - 1925
Expanding the coverage found in the inaugural edition of African Newspapers, this second series delivers 40 additional African newspapers published between 1835 and 1925.
These newspapers offer deep and unique coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples during this period of major change.
Africa Wide
Cambridge Core
History is the largest single subject area for the Press. It is a programme with both depth and breadth, ranging in subject matter from late antiquity to the present day, international in scope and embracing new approaches. Our publishing includes major reference series, textbooks and monographs, as well as a collection of distinguished journals affiliated to the world’s leading scholarly societies. Together, they reflect the diversity of the discipline and offer an unmatched resource for today’s historians.
Colonial Africa in Official Statistics 1821-1953
These statistics cover the funds, the population and the names of the officers of thirteen colonies across Africa. Details of which countries each colony was trading with and what they bought or sold were recorded in these books.
EBSCOhost Research Databases
Gale Academic Onefile
Explore a range of topics broken down by subject for targeted results based on your interests.
Gale Reference Complete
Gale Reference Complete provides access to primary and secondary sources, covering journals, newspapers, e-books, literature resources and archives.
Google Scholar
JSTOR
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.
PressReader
PressReader provides online access to over 7 200 newspapers and magazines, including more than 200 from South Africa. Available on any smartphone, tablet or laptop. Articles or full publications may be downloaded to be read when offline.
Proquest Social Science Database
Rand Daily Mail - 1902-1985
The Rand Daily Mail, published daily in Johannesburg between 1902 and 1985, pioneered popular journalism in South Africa. It is renowned today for being the first newspaper to openly oppose apartheid and contribute to its downfall. It is a fully searchable online resource containing every article, advertisement, editorial, cartoon, and photograph.
Sabinet African Archives
The resource is freely available, but users need to register and log in to access the content.
Sabinet African Archives is a growing index of thousands of African archives as well as special collections consisting of manuscripts, newspaper clippings, photographs, articles and more, to researchers with an interest in Africa. Sabinet African Archives links to the specific collections’ and archives websites for easy access to more detailed information.
Sabinet African Journals
Full-text access to journals published in South Africa. Covers all subject areas. Previously known as SA ePublications.
Sabinet Discover
Sabinet Discover allows you to search across all Sabinet information services from a single interface.
Please note: Sabinet clients will no longer be able to access the old platforms from 1 November 2021.
Sabinet Reference
This platform will provide you with a single entry point to seamlessly search Sabinet's reference products.
SA Cat
A union catalogue of items held by Southern African libraries. Updated daily.
SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO)
SA Media
Scopus
Taylor & Francis Online
Web of Science

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

History: Finding articles

Databases A-Z list

What is a database?

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Key databases for History