Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

History: History 144 Essay - Dr S Chetty

Essay 144

 

Essay topic - Dr S Chetty

"Write a biography of any South African historical figure that you have come across over the course of these lectures. Your biography should consider their role in shaping historical events i.e. the “Great Man” theory of history but should also address the way in which they were shaped by their historical contexts and circumstances."

 

I am your Faculty librarian Niel Hendriksz. If you struggle and need my assistance please contact me directly via email nh@sun.ac.za

Theses and Dissertations

National ETD Portal  This is a full text database of South African theses and dissertations. Look at the Reference list of the specific theses and try to trace some of the articles via our e-Journals A-Z list

Books

Library catalogue – when you do a search on the catalogue for a specific topic and there are online books available for this topic it will be indicated as Online access underneath the title 

On the library homepage under the heading FIND see the link to E-Reference works

Select the heading : History, Biography

Specifically have a look at the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography which gives detailed summaries of the lives of dead  British and colonial historical figures including many South Africans

Also have a look at:

Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century African History

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism

Gale Virtual Reference Library  is a huge reference database . Highly recommended

Google Books contains full text books or partially full text books

See the  COVID-19: Resources in different subject areas that are freely available during lockdown library guide.  On this guide there is a page for books and for journal articles from various sources. Have a look at Project Muse for free books and journal articles.

Journals articles via the History library guide

Journal Articles will be essential for this project

Use the following suggested databases. See guides down below on how to use the databases to search for articles.

Sabinet African Journals

Full-text access to journals published in South Africa. Covers all subject areas. Previously known as SA ePublications.

JSTOR

JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.

Academic Search Premier

Provides full-text for nearly 3200 scholarly publications covering social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Google Scholar 

Always use Google Scholar via the library homepage. 

To see the holdings in our library set up your  Google Scholar on your home computer See the attached pdf how to do it.

Google Sources

Remember to use Google with discretion

The following source is allowed by the lecturer

South African History Online