Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Documentation Centre for Music (DOMUS): Home

Special Collections Music

Welcome to the DOMUS guide where you'll find information on all music special collections.

Documentation Centre for Music (DOMUS)

The Documentation Centre for Music (DOMUS) is located in the Music Library, Stellenbosch University. DOMUS collections are mostly of South African importance, yet also of international significance.

We house close to 70 collections of South African composers, performers, researchers and music societies. Please see 'Collections' for an overview of our collections.

COVID-19 and the SU Library and Information Service

COVID-19: ACCESS AND SERVICES

Access to the Music Library is possible by appointment. Please arrange beforehand with the music library staff.

For returns, please make use of the book returns box at the entrance of the Main Library.

For training (music sources), please refer to 'Training and Events' on this guide.

Further information regarding the Coronavirus (COVID-19) and the SU Library and Information Service is available at the link below.

Reinventing the clay tablet

Unpacking the John Roos collection

John Roos (1946-2018) was coordinator of Unisa Music Foundation’s music tuition projects, served on board of STTEP outreach programme to learners from Mamelodi and Atteridgeville and acted as juror at national and international music competitions.

Clay tablets from this collection represent performances at the Tauromenium concert venue at his home, and are on display in the SU Music Library foyer.

The collection was donated by the Roos family, in collaboration with the Africa Open Institute.

[STTEP = SAMET (South African Music Education Trust) TPO (Transvaal Philharmonic Orchestra) Tshwane Education Project]

Special Collections Librarian, DOMUS

Santie de Jongh's picture
Santie de Jongh
Contact:
Musiekbiblioteek/Music Library
Departement Musiek/Department of Music
Privaatsak/Private Bag X1
Matieland 7602
+27 (0)21-808 2597
Website