It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world.
Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food (Print) by Dennis R. Heldman (Editor); Dallas G. Hoover (Editor); Matthew B. Wheeler (Editor)
Call Number: Stellenbosch University Library Upper Level 660.6 ENC
Publication Date: 2010-07-16
"The Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food" provides users with unprecedented access to nearly 200 entries that cover the entire food system, describing the concepts and processes that are used in the production of raw agricultural materials and food product manufacturing.
Dairy Science, Four Volume Set includes the study of milk and milk-derived food products, examining the biological, chemical, physical, and microbiological aspects of milk itself as well as the technological (processing) aspects of the transformation of milk into its various consumer products, including beverages, fermented products, concentrated and dried products, butter and ice cream.
Encyclopedia of Grain Science by Colin Wrigley (Editor-In-Chief); Harold Corke (Editor); Charles E. Walker (Editor)
The articles in this key work, heavily illustrated and fully revised since the first edition in 1999, highlight advances in areas such as genomics and food safety to bring users up-to-date on microorganisms in foods. Topics such as DNA sequencing and E. coli are particularly well covered.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology, 4 Volume Set by Frederick J. Francis (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Meat Sciences is an impressive and important body of work. Prepared by an international team of experts, this reference work covers all important aspects of meat science from stable to table, including animal breeding, physiology and slaughter, meat preparation, packaging, welfare, and food safety, to name a few. This Encyclopedia further covers important topics such as food microbiology, meat in human nutrition, biotechnological advances in breeding and many more. The Encyclopedia of Meat Sciences is an invaluable resource to practitioners of meat science and students alike.
The databases listed below along with your search strategy will give you articles relevant to Food Science
Is used by food scientist, processors and product developers in the field of grain sciences and technology. Use this if you want the Kjeldahl, Duma or Bradford methods as well as for the analysis of cereals and cereal products
PressReader provides online access to over 7 200 newspapers and magazines, including more than 200 from South Africa. Available on any smartphone, tablet or laptop. Articles or full publications may be downloaded to be read when offline.
The choice for chemistry research: a one-stop search for: substances (editor for chemical structure drawing available), reactions, journal references, patents and commercial source data.
REGISTER your individual SciFinder account for access (Login problems? contact email@example.com)