Skip to Main Content
  • Library AND Information Service

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Medicine and Health Sciences: Reference material, prescribed works & short loan material

Medicine and Health sciences

Reference material, prescribed works & short loan material

What does this collection consist of  and where do I find it?

Electronic resources 

E-Reference for Health Sciences includes E-dictionaries, E-encyclopedias,  and specialised research resources for multidisciplinary research.

Medical encylopedias from Gale can be searched as a collection and includes the Encyclopedia of bioethics, Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior, Encyclopedia of public health. Encyclopedia of alternative medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of mental disorders Gale Encyclopedia of neurological disorders, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of nursing & allied health, Nutrition and Well-being. 

Print collection 

Resources in print are available in the short loans and reference sections. Items in these sections may be identified by their coloured markers (see below at Lending). The collection consists of:

  • Reference works: encylopedias, dictionaries and others in print format.

  • Prescribed books: for students of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Lending 

Reference material (green markers): not for loan and to be consulted in library only.

Prescribed books (yellow markers): for loan for 3 days.

Short loan material (pink markers): for loan overnight and over a weekend.

More E-Reference​ for medicine and health sciences and consult the Selected websites for medicine and health sciences.

Faculty librarian

Profile Photo
Yusuf Ras
Contact:
Medicine and Health Sciences Library
Private Bag X5036
7599
South Africa

+27 21 938 9365

Staff Portal
© 2017, Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service, All rights reserved