Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Medicine and Health Sciences: Personal and Professional development 111 Theme B: Academic Literacy

Medicine and Health sciences

Assignment and workshop guide

Boolean operators

Recommended databases as sources for finding references and articles

 
African Journals - Sabinet  Full-text access to journals published in South Africa.
Africa-Wide Information - EBSCOhost (incorporating South African Studies and African Studies)
 

PubMed - Medline bibliographic database of int biomedical literature of the National Library of Medicine.

 

Google Scholar

Step-by-Step

Examples of Vancouver referencing style  |Make sense of referencingIn-text and reference list examples of the Vancouver method  on p 34+  | Characteristics of the method on p 10.

How do I do my assignment? To find, access and use information effectively,
use the Step-by-Step Guide.

Find information: Search strategy| Find articles | Find full text articles

Use information responsibly:   Plagiarism | Turnitin | Referencing

Need further  assistance?
Drop me a visit in the Medicine and Health Sciences Library, contact me or Ask Us 

Kindly give me some feedback

Suggested Keywords to find articles

Main theme for 2021: Describing and controlling a communicable disease caused by a virus

Pubmed: One option would be to use the MeSH
Controlled vocabulary and search for Virus Diseases

Scroll down for a list of different viral diseases, Select a specific disease by clicking on the term,(for instance Chronic Fatigue syndrome). When page opens, scroll down to see synonyms used for this disease, such as Myalgia Encephalomyelitis.
Combine  the various terms to broaden your search. Add the aspects such as epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis, prevention, control.

Use the  Worksheet in the box below to compile your search string and use this string to search on the various appropriate databases for articles on your topic.

The following two databases may be good options to use for African and South African information (log in with your SU campus username and password)

African Journal Archive - Sabinet

Africa-Wide Information

Tip: When searching Google Scholar and for help in finding the full-text via the journal title, ensure your Library links is set up correctly.

Remember you need to reference your sources used, so make sure you get the detail.

 Our Interlibrary loan service is available for your difficult to find articles(Check Google Scholar and E-Journals first).

If all else fail, your friendly librarians are available via ASK, or contact us via email to make an appointment

 

Example of compiled search string

 

_________ AND (_______ OR ________) AND ( ______OR ______)

"Chronic fatigue syndrome" AND (viral OR virus) AND (epidemiolog* OR control OR prevention)

Learn about Boolean logic

Search smarter, search faster, a video from the University of Sydney:
 

A Boolean Searching Library guide from Athabasca University:  Tips for searching with Boolean logic. and learn how to conduct phrase searching.

Worksheet: search strategy

Possible topics to use with the worksheet:

  • Geographic information systems in maternal health
  • Minimally invasive surgery to treat gynecological cancer: conventional laparoscopy and/or robot-assisted surgery

Search for articles via SUNSearch, the library's search functionality

Search SU libraries for Articles

Training Slides

Faculty librarian

Profile Photo
Ingrid van der Westhuizen
Contact:
PO Box 19091, Tygerberg, 7505
+2721 21 938 9435
Website