Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Medicine and Health Sciences: Finding articles

Medicine and Health sciences

Access Read by QxMD Institutional Edition for SU Staff and students

Leverage our existing university affiliation and  subscription to get one-touch access to thousands of premium PDF articles right on your iPad, iPhone, Android and web-enabled desktop.

Set-up is quick  (Remember to add our Institution name to your account settings):
Follow the link http://qx.md/read  to download READ by QxMD  or search for it in the app store.

Webversion available: https://readxmd.com

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Databases A-Z list

Alphabetical list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to.

How do I find and use information effectively: Finding journal articles

Search for articles

Search SU libraries for Articles

Databases specifically for South African information

Clinical Key video

UpToDate userguide

Learn about Boolean logic

Search smarter, search faster, a video from the University of Sydney:
 

A Boolean Searching Library guide from Athabasca University:  Tips for searching with Boolean logic. and learn how to conduct phrase searching.

Videos incl tips to support your research

A video from UCT on using Web of Science for your research

Keeping up to date with research publications

A video from UCT on how to keep up to date with research publications by means of Alerts

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

Faculty librarian

Profile Photo
Kay Jacobs
Contact:
Medicine and Health Sciences Library
PO Box 19091, Tygerberg, 7505
+27718720811

Faculty Librarian

Profile Photo
Alvina Matthee
Contact:
Stellenbosch University
Medicine and Health Sciences Library
Tygerberg
7505
South Africa
+27 21 9389367

Librarian: Medicine and Health Sciences Library

Profile Photo
Pamela Nyokwana
Contact:
Medicine & Health Sciences Library
PO Box 19091
Tygerberg 7505
Cape Town
South Africa
+27 21 938 9115

Librarian

Profile Photo
Yusuf Ras
Contact:
Medicine and Health Sciences Library
Private Bag X5036
7599
South Africa

+27 21 938 9365

Faculty librarian

Profile Photo
Ingrid van der Westhuizen
Contact:
PO Box 19091, Tygerberg, 7505
+2721 21 938 9435
Website