It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.
What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?
Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.
Key databases for Afrikaans & Nederlands
If the full text of an article is not available on a particular database, use the link below the reference to find out whether the article is available in full text elsewhere on the SU network.
If an article is not available at SU, it can be requested from another library via theInterlibrary loan request form. This form is also available on the library homepage under Quick links.
Provides full-text for nearly 3200 scholarly publications covering social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.
On-campus access only.
De tekst van ongeveer 52.000 krantenknipsels uit de periode vanaf 1900 betreffende de Nederlandse literatuur vanaf de 16e eeuw, geselecteerd uit de knipselcollecties van de OB-Amsterdam en het Nederlands Bibliotheek en Lektuur Centrum (NBLC) in Den Haag. De LiteRom biedt zoekmogelijkheden op (combinaties van) naam van de besproken auteur, titel van het besproken boek, naam van de krant, datum van publicatie en naam van de recensent.
PressReader provides online access to over 7 200 newspapers and magazines, including more than 200 from South Africa. Available on any smartphone, tablet or laptop. Articles or full publications may be downloaded to be read when offline.