Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Law & Government Publications: Databases & Finding Articles

Access to Resources

Access, office

 

If you are working from off-campus and you need to access any of the databases you will need your Stellenbosch University student number and password. Certain resources require a password - please contact the Law Library to get this information. Read more about Off-Campus Access on the libguide.

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

Accredited Journals

Click here for a complete list of accredited journals (IBSS, Web of Science Core Collection, Norwegian list, SciELO, Scopus, and local list) as received from DHET in January 2021. The DOAJ applies only to the 2021 publications and onwards.
http://www.sun.ac.za/english/research-innovation/Research-Development/outputs-accredited-journals/accredited-journals 

Databases A-Z list

Alphabetical list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Search the library for articles

Search SU libraries for Books & Articles