Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA)

Contact

Mr. L.D. Mestile (Director)
Tel.: +27 51 401 2418

E-mail: mestileld@ufs.ac.za

Mr NTF Sentso
Tel.: +27 51 401 2225
E-mail: sentsontf@ufs.ac.za

Fax: +27 51 401 2418

 

Physical Address:   Postal Address:

Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA)
University of the Free State
205 Nelson Mandela Drive
Park West
Bloemfontein
9301

  Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA)
P.O. Box 2320
University of the Free State
Bloemfontein 9300
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 10

  1. Afrikaanse Taal- en Kultuurbond (ATKB)
  2. Afrikaanse Taal- en Kultuurvereniging (ATKV)
  3. Eyssen, Stephen
  4. Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurverenigings (FAK)
  5. Law, Aletta Elizabeth
  6. Louw, B.P.
  7. Newspaper Cuttings (ARCA / INEG)
  8. Newspaper Cuttings: Die Volksblad
  9. Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns (SAAWK): Kommissie vir Uitvoerende Kunste
  10. Wendt, Gradus

Potential acquisitions:

FAK, SAAWK and ATKV continually.
Press cuttings continually updated.
Donations of individual items.

Scope and Content

Agendas
Articles
Constitutional documents
Correspondence
Diaries
Financial documents
Memoranda
Microfilms
Minutes
Music manuscripts
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Photographs
Printed music
Programmes
Proof copies
Reports
Speeches

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Afrikaanse Taal- en Kultuurbond (ATKB)
Call number  PV 743
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 30.10 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Agendas; Constitutional documents; Correspondence; Financial documents; Memoranda; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Afrikaanse Taal- en Kultuurvereniging (ATKV)
Call number  PV 379
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 155. 56 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Correspondence; Programmes; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections E-F

Eyssen, Stephen
Call number  PV 473
Type Military music; Western art music.
Extent 2 m.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content

Agendas; Articles; Constitutional documents; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial documents; Memoranda; Minutes; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Reports; Speeches.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurverenigings (FAK)
Call number  PV 202
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 175 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Agendas; Articles; Constitutional documents; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial documents; Memoranda; Minutes; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Reports; Speeches.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections K-L

Law, Aletta Elizabeth
Call number  PV 382
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 1 folder.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Louw, B.P.
Call number  PV 600
Type Liturgical music.
Extent ca. 3.2 m.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Agendas; Correspondence; Financial documents; Memoranda; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Printed music; Programmes; Proof copies; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Submission and revision of Afrikaans Hymn book.

Collections M-N

Newspaper Cuttings (ARCA/INEG)
Call number  -
Type African music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Cuttings from 1969-1977. Cuttings from 1978 via SA Media.

 

Newspaper Cuttings: Die Volksblad
Call number  PV 22
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 0.9 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Cuttings from Die Volksblad. See also Paul Marais collection at NALN.

Collections S-T

Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns (SAAWK): Kommissie vir Uitvoerende Kunste
Call number  FKGUitvK
Type Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 1.5 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Agendas; Articles; Awards; Bibliographies; Constitutional documents; Correspondence; Diaries; Minutes; Notes; Policies; Questionnaires; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections W-Z

Wendt, Gradus
Call number  PV 78
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 0.02 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -