Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: UNISA Library Archives

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

University of South Africa (UNISA) Library Archives

Contact

Ms Anri van der Westhuizen
Tel.:  +27 12 429 2560
E-mail:  avdwesth@unisa.ac.za

Ms Lufuno Kgamedi
Tel.:  +27 12 429 3866
E-mail:  kgamel@unisa.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Unisa Library Archives
Anton Lembede Library Building Level 2
Preller Street
Muckleneuk Campus

Pretoria
0003
South Africa
  Unisa Library Archives
Anton Lembede Building PD 2-3
P.O. Box 392
Unisa
Pretoria
0003
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 27

  1. Afrikaanse Musiekklub, Pretoria
  2. Afrikaans Music Scores (UNISA)
  3. Badenhorst, Rachie
  4. Buchuland (Roelof Temmingh)
  5. Cherry, Richard
  6. Coertse, Mimi
  7. Correira, J. Manuel
  8. De la Porte, Betsy
  9. Deutscher Männerchor Pretoria
  10. Erich Mayer Liederbuch
  11. Everson, Oliver Cromwell
  12. Helgard Steyn Composers Competition
  13. International Society for Music Education (ISME)
  14. Joubert, Hennie
  15. Korsten, Gè
  16. Marais, S. le Roux
  17. Marivate, D.C.
  18. Nepgen, Rosa
  19. Pretoria Musical Society
  20. Pretoria Youth Orchestra
  21. Roode, D.J.
  22. Samuel, Lessie
  23. Slotow Collection
  24. Transvaal United African Teachers’ Association (TUATA)
  25. Unisa International Music Competitions Collection
  26. Unisa Music Certificate Examinations
  27. Unisa Music Instrument Collection 

Potential acquisitions:

General acquisition of collections.

Scope and Content

Acts and statutes
Africana sheet music
Agendas
Annual reports
Application forms
Artefacts
Aural tests
Brochures
Bursaries
Catalogues
Certificates
Constitutions
Contracts
Correspondence
Curricula
Financial documents
Lectures
Libretti
Minutes
Monographs
Music scores
Music manuscripts
Musical instruments
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Objets d’art (Paintings; Pencil sketches: Drawings)
Periodicals
Personal documents
Photocopies
Photographs
Posters
Printed music
Programmes
Reports
Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos)
Speeches
Theory papers
Tickets

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
General research on all collections.
Prospective digitizing project
.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

For digitisation projects in general, see Unisa Library Digital Collections.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Afrikaanse Musiekklub, Pretoria
Call number  MSS no 40
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Acts and statutes; Annual reports; Application forms; Bursaries; Correspondence; Constitutions; Financial documents; Minutes; Notes; Photocopies; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Afrikaanse Musiekklub, Pretoria (1955-1980).

 

Afrikaans Music Scores (UNISA)
Call number  MSS no 169
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes music of Dolly Heiberg, Hubert du Plessis, Pieter de Villiers (Boerneef songs), Anna Rudolph, S Le Roux Marais, Anne Neser, P. McLachlan, P.J. Lemmer, Jan Pohl, Jan Swart, Gerrie Snyman, Cissie & Willie Cooper, and Danie Bosman.

 

Badenhorst, Rachie
Call number  MSS no78
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Catalogued; Correspondence; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of Africana sheet music.

 

Buchuland (Roelof Temmingh)
Call number  MSS no 121
Type Western art music.
Extent 13 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory ; Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Libretti; Music manuscripts (Copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Opera commissioned by UNISA for ISME concert, 1989.

Collections C-D

Cherry, Richard
Call number  MSS no 59
Type Military music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 49 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Lectures; Music manuscripts; Photographs; Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Compositions (220 original manuscripts): Film, orchestral, songs and braille.

 

Coertse, Mimi
Call number  MSS no 110
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Correira, J. Manuel
Call number  MSS no 113
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 50 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Artefacts; Brochures; Certificates; Correspondence; Lectures; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Periodicals; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Owner of Prime Press.

 

De la Porte, Betsy
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 110 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Handwritten index. Catalogued on library catalogue (Oasis). Arranged alphabetically according to composer.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By purchase.
Notes In process of being catalogued.

 

Deutscher Männerchor Pretoria
Call number  Accession 87
Type Folk music; Liturgical Music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent 10 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory; Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Notes; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Choir came to an end in 2005; Collection resorts under Hesse Collection of German Africana.

Collections E-F

Erich Mayer Liederbuch
Call number  Accession 26
Type Military music; Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Prisoner of War during Anglo Boer War. Items resort under Hesse Collection of German Africana.

 

Everson, Oliver Cromwell
Call number  MSS no 168
Type Military music; Western art music.
Extent 10 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access In process of being listed.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes (Poems); Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections G-H

Helgard Steyn Composers Competition
Call number  MSS no 154
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 5 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unctalogued.
Access No inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Helgard Steyn Composers Competition, 2002. Original music compositions sent in for competition and CD recordings thereof.

Collections I-J

International Society for Music Education (ISME)
Call number  Unisa Archives – monographs
Type Music education
Extent 5 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Arranged alphabetically and chronologically. No inventory available. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Correspondence; Minutes; Programmes; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Only for 1998.

 

Joubert, Hennie
Call number  MSS no 67
Type Popular music; Western Art music
Extent 40 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content

Certificates; Correspondence; Financial documents; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes).

Acquisition By donation.
Notes Hennie Joubert (1950-1986) Music Competitions.

Collections K-L

Korsten, Gè
Call number  MSS no 142
Type Popular music; Western art music
Extent ca. 28 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Operas sung in Afrikaans.

Collections M-N

Marais, S. le Roux
Call number  MSS no 158
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) No inventory available. Access on campus only.
Scope and content Objets d'art (Paintings).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Marivate, D.C.
Call number  AAS 124
Type African music; Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 12 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content

Correspondence; Financial documents; Music manuscripts; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Speeches.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes 1 pamphlet box contains music related materials (includes Tonic solfa). Resorts under Documentation Centre for African Studies.

 

Nepgen, Rosa
Call number  MSS no 33
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory available. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items relating to Nepgen’s work, Op die flottina.

Collections O-P

Pretoria Musical Society
Call number  MSS no 44
Type Western art music.
Extent 8 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Pretoria Youth Orchestra
Call number  MSS no 63
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content

Agendas; Brochures; Constitutions; Correspondence; Financial documents; Programmes.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections Q-R

Roode, D.J.
Call number  MSS no 74
Type Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Certificates; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections S-T

Samuel, Lessie
Call number  MSS no 56
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 7 volumes.
Level of description Uncatalogued.
Access No inventory; Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Scrapbooks (Certificates; Contracts; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Programmes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Copies of documents referring to Ms Samuel’s involvement in music.

 

Slotow Collection
Call number  MSS no 76
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 20 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory; Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Historical papers, with 1 box Africana sheet music.

 

Transvaal United African Teachers’ Association (TUATA)
Call number  AAS 121
Type Music education.
Extent 44 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory; Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Certificates; Correspondence; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Programmes; Reports; Tickets.

Acquisitionstrong> By donation.
NoNotes ca. 3 pamphlet boxes of music related materials (Eisteddfods; Music competitions). Resorts under Documentation Centre for African Studies.

Collections U-V

Unisa International Music Competitions
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 75 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Arranged chronologically. Printed Inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Photographs; Programmes; (Printed music); Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes From 1982 to 2000. Also contains works by South African composers. Resorts under Unisa Archives.

 

Unisa Music Certificate Examinations
Call number  -
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 46 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Arranged alphabetically and chronologically. No printed Inventory. Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content

Aural tests; Curricula; Guides; Printed music (Prescribed examination albums); Theory papers.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes From 1894 ; Also contains prescribed works by South African composers ; Resorts under Unisa Archives.

 

Unisa Music Instrument Collection
Call number  UMIC
Type -
Extent 351 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on DB Text (InMagic). Access on campus only.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content

Musical instruments.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes Steafel collection of musical instruments.