Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: University of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies Library

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

UCT Special Collections: African Studies

UCT SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: AFRICAN STUDIES LIBRARY

Contact

Beverley Angus
E-mail: Beverley.angus@uct.ac.za

Busi Kangala
E-mail: 
busi.kangala@uct.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Special Collections: African Studies
Chancellor Oppenheimer Library
Upper Campus
University of Cape Town
South Africa
  UCT Special Collections: African Studies
Private Bag X3
Rondebosch
7701
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 2

  1. Films (UCT)
  2. MacMillan Press Clippings

Potential acquisitions:

Active collection of items to expand collection.

Scope and Content

Newspaper cuttings
Sound recordings (Films)

Research Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):

Bibliographies: Topics of current research interests which are hard to source (will be available from homepage).

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA).
Atlas of Mutual Heritage (joint project of National Archives and Rijksmuseum in Netherlands): Digitization of maps in era VOC to 1800.
Posters: Liberation struggles of SADC countries.

.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections E-F

Films (UCT)
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 2000 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Sorted by title.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Films).
Acquisition By donation and purchase.
Notes Some films with topic of music. See UCT Film and Video Collections.

Collections M-N

MacMillan Press Clippings
Call number  -
Type African music; Anthems; Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 5000 files.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Print and electronic finding aid.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation and purchase.
Notes ca. 1950 to date. Now slowing down due to work of SAMedia. See UCT Newspapers.