Skip to Main Content

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Directory of South African Music Collections: Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service: DOMUS

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

Santie de Jongh (Special Collections Librarian)
Tel.:  +27 21 808 2597
E-mail:  santiedj@sun.ac.za

Music Library: General enquiries
Tel: +27 21 808 2337

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Music Library: DOMUS
Konservatorium
Neethling Street
Stellenbosch
South Africa		   Music Library: DOMUS
Private Bag X5036
Matieland, 7602
South Africa

 


View DOMUS, Music Library, Stellenbosch University in a larger map

Holdings

Collections: 90

  1. Africana and Rare Books
  2. Allan Graham Historical Sound Recordings
  3. Andresen, Olaf
  4. Angove, Ivy
  5. Artefacts
  6. Aucamp, Hennie
  7. Bailey, John
  8. Blake, Michael
  9. Botha, Amanda
  10. Botha, Johan
  11. Bouws, Jan
  12. Bowman, Lionel
  13. Breytenbach, Cloete
  14. Cape Philharmonic Orchestra (CPO)
  15. Carstens, Nico
  16. Cillié, G.G.
  17. Coates, Albert
  18. Cohen, Sandra
  19. De Jager, Albert
  20. De Villiers, Dirkie
  21. De Villiers, Pieter
  22. Devereux-Harris, Pam*
  23. Du Plessis, Hubert
  24. Du Toit, Nellie*
  25. Eato, Jonathan
  26. Endler, Johann Franz (Hans)
  27. Eoan Opera Group
  28. Froneman, Willemien
  29. Fuchs, Adriaan
  30. Goosen, Anton
  31. Graham Sound Electronic (GSE)
  32. Grové, Izak
  33. Grové, Stefans
  34. Hartman, Anton
  35. Hennie Joubert Piano Competition
  36. Heyns, Elizabeth
  37. Hidden Years Music Archive (HYMA): Des and Dawn Lindberg:
  38. Hidden Years Music Archive (HYMA): David Marks
  39. Hidden Years Music Archive (HYMA): Ben Segal
  40. James, Christopher
  41. Jannasch, Friedrich Wilhelm
  42. Kaganof, Aryan
  43. Kahanovitz, Steven
  44. Knobel, Deon
  45. Kolevson, Rosa
  46. Konservatorium Collection
  47. Lee-Thorp, Patrick
  48. Lessing, Sybil
  49. Lopez-Lambrechts Collection
  50. Lucia, Christine
  51. Malan, Japie
  52. Marques, Ernesto
  53. Martin, Denis-Constant
  54. Mayr, Rupert
  55. Musicological Society of Southern Africa
  56. Neiman, Dolly
  57. Nel, Werner
  58. Nepgen, Rosa
  59. Newcater, Graham
  60. NewMusicSA (International Society for Contemporary Music)
  61. Obelisk Music Publishers
  62. Oxtoby, Charles
  63. Pearlson, Peter
  64. Pelham, Aviva
  65. Petersen, Taliep
  66. Programmes (general)
  67. Pullin, John-Ivor
  68. Rakin, Renee
  69. Reddy, Surendran
  70. Roos, John
  71. Roux, Dalena
  72. Scott, Michael
  73. Scott, Willem
  74. Shmaryahu, Alain
  75. Simon, John
  76. Sound Recordings
  77. South African Jewish Music Centre (SAJMC)
  78. Stegmann, Frits
  79. Stellenbosch Kunswedstryd
  80. SU Choir
  81. Suider-Afrikaanse Kerkorrelistevereniging (SAKOV)
  82. Swanson, Walter
  83. Tygerberg Kinderkoor
  84. Van der Linde, Bernard
  85. Van der Spuy, George
  86. Van der Westhuizen, Pieter
  87. Van Niekerk, Hanlie
  88. Van Rooyen, Bouwer
  89. Weich, Charles
  90. Wiehahn, Desmond John

For preliminary lists on some of our collections, please contact Santie de Jongh (santiedj@sun.ac.za).

See further below for finding aids.

Potential acquisitions:

Works by African scholars and composers.

Scope and Content

Address books
Agendas
Annual reports
Artefacts
Articles
Autograph books
Awards
Broadcasts
Brochures
Bulletins
Calendars
Catalogues
Certificates
Constitutional documents
Correspondence
Diaries
Financial documents
Furniture
Guest books
Lectures
Libretti
Memoranda
Microfilms
Minutes
Monographs
Musical instruments
Music manuscripts
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Objets d’art (Busts; Paintings; Watercolours)
Periodicals
Personal documents
Photographic negatives
Photographs
Posters
Printed music
Programmes
Reports
Scrapbooks
Scripts
Seating plans
Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos)
Stamps
Textiles (Clothing/Costumes)
Theses
Tickets

Projects

Research projects (complete):
Eoan Opera Group Book project (Eoan - Our Story)

Research projects (current):
Book projects:

  • Hidden Years Music Archive Project (HYMAP)

Arnold van Wyk metadata project (collection held in Stellenbosch University main library)

Digitisation projects (complete):
Albert Coates collection
Stefans Grové collection
See SUNDigital Collections.

Digitisation projects (current):
Fay Singer South African Jewish Music Centre collection
Michael Blake collection
Graham Newcater collection
John Simon collection
Christopher James collection
Hidden Years Music Archive collection

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Africana and Rare Books
Call number   
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 15 m.
Level of description Sorted; Unsorted.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on library catalogue (Aleph).
Monographs 2 m (catalogued); Printed music: 1 m (catalogued); Uncatalogued items: scores and monographs 3 m.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Allan Graham Historical Sound Recordings
Call number   
Type Western art music.
Extent Sound recordings: 10 m; Correspondence: 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Andresen, Olaf
Call number  -
Type Military music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 13 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Angove, Ivy
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 8 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Diaries; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Artefacts
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 15 items.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts (Musical stands; Music ruling sets); Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Aucamp, Hennie
Call number  -
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 15 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Catalogued on library catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
Scope and content Articles; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Hennie Aucamp Entartete Musik recordings in Music Library.

 

Bailey, John
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 20 items.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Catalogues; Correspondence; Music manuscripts (Copies); Notes; Programmes; Sound recordings (Sound Cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Blake, Michael
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 162 pamphlet boxes; ca. 150 oversized items; ca. 120 sound recordings.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Photographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bouws, Jan
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 8 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bowman, Lionel
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 27 pamphlet boxes ; ca. 120 sound recordings.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Certificates; Correspondence; Financial documents; Lectures; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings ; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Breytenbach, Cloete
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 180 items.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Photographic negatives; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Photographs of the Eoan opera group.

Collections C-D

Cape Philharmonic Orchestra (CPO)
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 55 pamphlet boxes; 1 steel cabinet.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Newspaper cuttings in scrapbooks arranged according to date.
Performers’ notes and photographs arranged alphabetically.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Photographs; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Carstens, Nico
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent ca. 55 pamphlet boxes and 66 sound recordings.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Brochures; Contracts; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial documents; Itineraries; Leaflets; Magazines; Manuscript copies; Manuscripts; Miscellaneous; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings (copies); Newspaper cuttings; Note books; Notes; Notes (copies); Personal papers; Photographic reproductions; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Printed music (copies); Programmes; Reports; Sound recordings (LPs; CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Accordion music; Boeremusiek.

 

Cillié, G.G.
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Coates, Albert
Call number  PDV 2
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 1700 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Address books; Artefacts; Articles; Autograph books; Brochures; Certificates; Correspondence; Furniture; Libretti; Microfilms; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Busts; Paintings); Periodicals; Photographic Negatives; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes To be digitised.

 

Correspondence
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 20 items.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Correspondence.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes General collection containing correspondence of South African music personalities.

 

De Villiers, Dirkie
Call number  -
Type Military music; Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts (Also includes copies); Newspaper cuttings; Periodicals; Printed music (Copies); Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Villiers, Pieter
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 47 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Agendas; Artefacts; Articles; Awards; Brochures; Calendars; Catalogues; Certificates; Contracts; Correspondence; Examination papers; Facsimiles; Films (VHS); Financial documents; Lectures; Manuscript books; Manuscript copies; Maps; Miscellaneous; Monographs; Music Manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Newspaper cuttings (copies); Notes (includes copies); Objets d’art; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Printed music (copies); Programmes; Sketches; Sound recordings (Reel tapes; Sound cassettes); Speeches; Transparencies.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Du Toit, Nellie
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content

Agendas; Artefacts; Articles; Awards; Brochures; Calendars; Catalogues; Certificates; Contracts; Correspondence; Examination papers; Facsimiles; Films (VHS); Financial documents; Lectures; Manuscript books; Manuscript copies; Miscellaneous; Monographs; Music Manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Newspaper cuttings (copies); Notes (includes copies); Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Printed music (copies); Programmes; Sketches; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes); Speeches; Transparencies.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Donald Graham Historical Sound Recordings
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 10.2 m.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections E-F

Eato, Jonathan
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -
 

 

Endler, Johann Franz (Hans)
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 6 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Eoan Opera Group
Call number  -
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 109 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Agendas; Annual reports; Brochures; Bulletins; Certificates; Constitutions; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial documents; Libretti; Memoranda; Minutes; Monographs; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Watercolours); Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Printed music; Reports; Scrapbooks; Scripts; Seating plans; Sound recordings (Reel tapes); Textiles (Clothing/Costumes); Tickets.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -
 

Collections G-H

Goosen, Anton
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 23 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Acts; Agendas; Articles; Atlases; Brochures; Caricatures; Catalogues; Certificates; Constitutional documents; Contracts; Correspondence; Diaries; Estates; Financial documents; Itineraries; Leaflets; Magazines; Manuscript copies; Manuscripts; Maps; Minutes; Miscellaneous; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings (copies); Newspaper cuttings; Note books; Notes; Notes (copies); Personal papers; Photographic reproductions; Posters; Printed music; Printed music (copies); Programmes; Reports; Schedules; Sketches; Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes); Telephone directories.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Afrikaans popular music.

 

Grové, Stefans
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 300 items.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Notes; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Currently for digitisation.

 

Hartman, Anton
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Heyns, Elizabeth
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 8 items.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence (copies); Monographs; Sound recordings (LPs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Recordings and notes on French baritone Pierre Bernac.

 

Hidden Years Music Archive (HYMA): David Marks
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent ca. 30 m.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes 3rd Ear Music.

 

Hidden Years Music Archive (HYMA): Ben Segal
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent ca. 30 m.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Monographs; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes 3rd Ear Music.

Collections I-J

James, Christopher
Call number  -
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent 106 pamphlet boxes ; ca. 6 m monographs and sound recordings (CDs; LPs; Reel tapes).
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Agreements; Architectural plans; Artefacts; Articles; Brochures; Bulletins; Business cards; Catalogues; Certificates; Computer discs; Conference proceedings; Constitutions; Contracts; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial documents; Guides; Leaflets; Libretti; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Ms copies; Musical instruments; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Pamphlets; Periodicals; Photocopies; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Reports; Sound recordings (CDs; LPs; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Jannasch, Friedrich Wilhelm
Call number  PDV 3
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 11 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic). See Jannasch collection.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Certificates; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections K-L

Kaganof, Aryan
Call number  -
Type African music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 300 items.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary) ; Catalogued (Films)
Access Print and electronic list on request ; Electronic: Catalogued on library catalogue (Aleph) See http://aleph20.calico.ac.za/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b&local_base=sun01pub
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Films; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Posters; Sound Recordings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Films on DVD via US Library catalogue.

 

Konservatorium Collection
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 128 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Autograph books; Correspondence; Financial documents; Guest books; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lessing, Sybil
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content -
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Jewish music.

 

Lopez-Lambrechts Collection
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 14 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Lectures; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lucia, Christine
Call number  -
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Lectures; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections M-N

Madosini Project
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description -
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (DVDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Recordings made during visit of Xhosa musician Latozi Mpahleni alias Madosini.

 

Malan, Japie
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 23 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Architectural plans; Articles; Brochures; Certificates; Correspondence; Financial documents; Music manuscripts (copies); Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Organist of the Groote Kerk, Cape Town.

 

Martin, Denis-Constant
Call number  -
Type Folk music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes (includes 7 DVDs; 8 mini discs; 41 sound cassettes).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic). See Denis-Constant Martin collection.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Brochures; Notes; Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Sound recordings (DVDs; Mini Discs; MP3; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Research on Cape Malay music. Interviews collected by Denis-Constant Martin between 1994 and 2015. Includes: Kaapse Klopse music, Malay Choirs and Music Action for People's Progress (MAPP).
Note terms of use.

 

Music Examinations
Call number  -
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic). See Music Examinations collection.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Examination papers; Theory papers.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Department of Education, Cape of Good Hope; UNISA.

 

Musicological Society of Southern Africa
Call number  -
Type African music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 72 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Brochures; Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Some restrictions apply.

 

Nepgen, Rosa
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 14 pamphlet boxes; ca. 800 items of other composers.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Items (standard repertoire and non-South African) in work collection on library catalogue (Aleph) ; Print and electronic list on request
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Periodicals; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Newcater, Graham
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent  2 pamphlet boxes; ca. 104 oversized items.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Drawings); Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Simon, John (DOMUS collections).

 

NewMusicSA (International Society for Contemporary Music - ISCM)
Call number  -
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 56 pamphlet boxes ; ca. 2 m sound recordings.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Periodicals; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; Videos)
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also http://www.newmusicsa.org.za/

 

Notes, Lectures and Publications
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes General lecture, programme and publication notes by various music personalities.

Collections O-P

Obelisk Music
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 46 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Composers represented in this collection, include Alexander Johnson, Andrew Cruickshank, Anton Els, Arnold van Wyk, Arthur Wegelin, Avril Kinsey, Barry Jordan, Carl van Wyk, Christo Jankowitz, Christopher James, Dario Broccardo, Dirk de Klerk, Elliott Carter, Etienne van Rensburg, George S. Fazalhas, Gerrit Jordaan, Graham Newcater, Hannes Taljaard, Hans Huyssen, Hans Roosenschoon, Hendrik Hofmeyr, Herman Jordaan, Hubert du Plessis, Jaco van der Merwe, Jacobus Kloppers, James Rich, Jeanne Zaidel-Rudolph, Johan Cloete, Johannes van Eeden, John Coulter, Kevin Volans, Martin Watt, Michael Blake, Niel van der Watt, Peter Klatzow, Péter Louis van Dijk, Roelof Temmingh, Sean Gossel, Stefans Grové, Waldo Malan and Wessel van Rensburg.

 

Periodicals and Newsletters
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 5 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Finding aid (print and electronic). See http://www.domus.ac.za/images/Tydskrifte%20in%20DOMUS%282%29.pdf
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
Scope and content Newsletters; Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection contains mostly South African periodicals and newsletters.

 

Petersen, Taliep
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 54 pamphlet boxes ; ca. 100 oversized items.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Architectural plans; Articles; Brochures; Catalogues; Certificates; Computer disks; Contracts; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial documents; Inventories; Itineraries; Leaflets; Leaflets (copies); Libretti; Magazines; Manuscripts (copies); Maps; Miscellaneous (Business cards; CD cover copies); Monographs; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Newspaper cuttings (copies); Notebooks; Notes (Song texts); Notes (copies); Pamphlets; Periodicals; Photographic negatives; Photographic reproductions; Photographs; Printed music (copies); Programmes; Reviews; Reviews (copies); Schedules; Scrapbooks; Scripts; Sheet music; Sheet music (copies); Slides.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Programmes
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic). See https://scholar.sun.ac.za/bitstream/handle/10019.1/931/Programme%20in%20DOMUS.pdf?sequence=1
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections Q-R

Roux, Dalena
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content -
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Roos, John
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Artefacts (clay tablets); Certificates; Correspondence; Diaries; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographic negatives; Photographs; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections S-T

Scott, Michael
Call number  PSP SSCO -
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 1500 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic. Catalogued on Endnote.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Scott Collection (200) at JS Gericke Library, Stellenbosch University.

 

Simon, John
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 59 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic). See John Simon sound recordings.
Some restrictions may apply.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Correspondence between John Simon and Graham Newcater.
See also Newcater, Graham (DOMUS).

 

Sound Recordings
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 2 m.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Located in Music Library.

 

South African Jewish Music Centre (SAJMC)
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Jewish music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 18 m.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Articles; Brochures; Certificates; Correspondence; Diaries; Dissertations; Financial documents; Maps; Music manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Reports; Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes); Theses.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection based on work of Mrs. Fay Singer.

 

Stegmann, Frits
Call number  -
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 132 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Address books; Annual reports; Artefacts; Articles; Broadcasts; Brochures; Calendars; Catalogues; Correspondence; Financial documents; Memoranda; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Stamps.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Stellenbosch Kunswedstryd
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 12 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Certificates; Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Posters.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Suider-Afrikaanse Kerkorrelistevereniging (SAKOV)
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 12 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Certificates; Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Posters; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes geographical coverage for Namibia. See also Bouwer van Rooyen collection [Van Rooyen, Bouwer]

 

Swanson, Walter
Call number  -
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 73 pamphlet boxes; ca. 1 m Reel Tapes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Libretti; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographic Negatives; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes; Reel tapes; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes List can be consulted in conjunction with work list compiled by Van Zyl and Vollgraaff.

 

Theses and Dissertations
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 55 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic). See http://www.domus.ac.za/images/Tesisse%20in%20DOMUS.pdf
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
Scope and content Theses.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes List of duplicates theses and dissertations in Stellenbosch University Music Library.

 

Tygerberg Kinderkoor - Tygerberg Children's Choir
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 30 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Address books; Annual reports; Artefacts; Articles; Broadcasts; Brochures; Calendars; Catalogues; Correspondence; Financial documents; Memoranda; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Stamps.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections U-V

US Koor (Stellenbosch University Choir)
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 102 pamphlet boxes ; ca. 280 oversized items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Newsletters; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Sound recordings; Textiles (Choir uniforms).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Spuy, George
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 11 pamphlet boxes (documents) ; 4m (sound recordings and monographs).
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Certificates; Correspondence; Lectures; Music manuscripts (Copies); Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (LPs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Westhuizen, Pieter
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Brochures; Certificates; Correspondence; Lectures; Music manuscripts (Copies); Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Niekerk, Hanlie
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 13 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
Scope and content Brochures; Certificates; Contracts; Correspondence; Diaries; Music manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Printed music (copies); Programmes; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Rooyen, Bouwer
Call number  PSP AVW-
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
Scope and content Articles; Monographs; Periodicals; Programmes; Sound recordings (LPs); Theses.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Suider-Afrikaanse Kerkorrelistevereniging (SAKOV) collection.

 

Collections W-Z

Weich, Charles
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent 30 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Certificates; Constitutional documents; Correspondence; Financial documents; Lectures; Libretti; Minutes; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Staff Portal
© 2024, Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service, All rights reserved