Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: South African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation Services

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

South African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation Services

Contact (only archival enquiries)

Tel.:  +27 12 670 8127 (ask for reading room and enquiries)
Fax:  +27 12 670 8001
E-mail:  archive@dod.mil.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:

Department of Defence
Command and Management
Information Systems Division
Documentation Centre
42 Saturnus Road
Irene, Pretoria
0157

South Africa

  Department of Defence
Command and Management
Information Systems Division
DoD Archives
Private Bag X289
Pretoria
0001
South Africa

 

 

  • Consult finding aids (archival lists)
  • Arrange for declassification of documents in advance

PAIA requests
Defence Enterprise Information Systems Management Division (Office of the GITO)
Mr S.D. Machethe
Mr Ronnie Mdawe
Defence Secretariat, DEISM Division
Private Bag X910
Pretoria
0001

Tel.: + 27 12 672 1450
Fax: + 27 12 672 2111

Mr S.D. Machethe
E-mail: seliti.machethe@dod.mil.za

Mr Ronnie Mdawe
E-mail: ronnie.mdawe@dod.mil.za

  • Arrange to visit in advance
  • Closed on Mondays and Fridays

 

Holdings

Collections: 2

  1. Individual Items (SANDF)
  2. Photographs (SANDF)

Potential acquisitions:

General donations of individual items.

Scope and Content

Brochures
Correspondence
Monographs
Notes
Photographic negatives
Photographs
Printed music
Programmes

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Digitization of photographs.

Collections

Individual Items (SANDF)
Call number  -
Type Military music.
Extent ca. 40 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed register.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Music manuscripts; Notes; Printed music; Programmes; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Arrange for visit.

 

Photographs (SANDF)
Call number  -
Type Military music.
Extent ca. 298 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on SINET; Arranged according to year.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Photographic negatives; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Arrange for visit.