Skip to Main Content
  • Library AND Information Service

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Directory of South African Music Collections: University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music Library

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

Ms Nonjabulo Ngcobo
Tel.:  +27 31 260 3827
E-mail:  ngcobon16@ukzn.ac.za

 

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Eleanor Bonnar Music Library
244 King George V Avenue
Durban
4041
South Africa		   Eleanor Bonnar Music Library
244 King George V Avenue
Durban
4041
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 4

  1. Black South African Popular Music
  2. Ethnomusicological Record Collection
  3. Hunter, Malcolm
  4. Lowe, Wilf 

Potential acquisitions:

None.

Scope and Content

Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Sound cassettes)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Digitization of black South African popular music at DISA, University of KwaZulu-Natal. See Campbell collections.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Black South African Popular Music (UKZN)
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 119 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Indexed according to performer, title and record company.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections E-F

Ethnomusicological Record Collection (UKZN)
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music.
Extent 1242 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Ethnic Folkways; UNESCO; OCORA; The Sound of Africa.

Collections G-H

Hunter, Malcolm
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 3 700 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Uniterm System of Indexing.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections K-L

Lowe, Wilf
Call number  -
Type Popular music.
Extent 2236 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Alphabetical indexing by performer.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By purchase.
Notes -

Staff Portal
© 2017, Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service, All rights reserved