Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: University of Cape Town (UCT): Manuscripts

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

UCT Special Collections

UCT SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: MANUSCRIPTS

Contact

Mrs. Renate Meyer (Head)
Tel.: +27 21 650 4424
E-mail: renate.meyer@uct.ac.za

General:
Tel.: +27 21 650 3123
Fax: +27 21 686 1505
E-mail: lib-mss@uct.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Special Collections
Jagger Library
Upper Campus
University of Cape Town
South Africa
  University of Cape Town: Special Collections
Private Bag X3
Rondebosch
7701
South Africa

 

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 73

  1. Ashworth, Alexander Hargreaves
  2. Bell, William Henry
  3. Bini, Albina
  4. Boniface, Charles Etienne
  5. Cape Town City Ballet
  6. Cape Town Performing Arts Programmes
  7. Cecilia Wessels Miscellany
  8. Chisholm, Erik
  9. Circus and Theatre Miscellany
  10. Composers' Music Scores
  11. Cree, Edgar
  12. Dederick, Robert
  13. De Kock, S.J.
  14. Doris Lardner Memorabilia
  15. Doris Lardner Miscellany
  16. Du Plessis, Hubert
  17. English Folk Dance Society Collection
  18. Findlay, Stuart
  19. Forsyth, Malcolm
  20. Gerstman, Blanche
  21. Grainger, Percy
  22. Grant, Erik
  23. Greathead, Lucy
  24. Gregorio Fiasconaro Memorabilia
  25. Grové, Stefans
  26. Gutsche, Thelma
  27. Hall, Elsie
  28. Hartmann, Friedrich Helmut
  29. Hely-Hutchinson, Victor
  30. Herring Bequest Collection
  31. Joubert, John
  32. Joubert, Manuel
  33. Kirby / Bloom Papers
  34. Kirby, PR
  35. Klatzow, Peter
  36. Kraus, Lili
  37. Latrou, Angelo
  38. Lilienfeld, Richard
  39. Manuscripts and Archives in Microform
  40. Marx, Beatrice
  41. Mulder collection
  42. Musical Times
  43. Niay-Darroll, Apolline
  44. Norton, W.A.
  45. Paganelli, Guiseppe
  46. Philharmonia Choir of Cape Town
  47. Pickerill, William J.
  48. Pulen Song
  49. Pulvermacher, Gunther
  50. Racster, Olga
  51. Rainier, Priaulx
  52. Rajna, Thomas
  53. Redvers Llewellyn Memorabilia
  54. Rodger, Jacobus
  55. Single Compositions (UCT)
  56. Selley, Robert
  57. Single manuscript items
  58. Smith, Barry
  59. Solomon, Yonty
  60. Sorabji, Kaikosru Shapurji
  61. South African Composers' Letters
  62. Strauss-Smith, Lloyd
  63. Talbot, Desiré
  64. Taylor, Colin
  65. University Musical Society
  66. UCT College of Music Photographs
  67. UCT College of Music: Photographs of opera productions
  68. Van Dieren, Bernard
  69. Webb, Helen
  70. Wendland Papers
  71. Wendt, Theo
  72. Westphal, EOJ
  73. Whittaker, Maurice E.

Potential acquisitions:

None.

Scope and Content

Annual reports
Artefacts
Articles
Autograph books
Bequest documents
Broadcasts
Brochures
Catalogues
Certificates
Contracts
Correspondence
Diaries
Financial documents
Lectures
Memoranda
Microfilms
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notation scores
Notes
Objets d’art (Drawings; Paintings; Pencil scketches; Portraits; Prints)
Periodicals
Personal documents
Photographic negatives
Photographs
Posters
Printed music
Programmes
References
Reviews
Schedules
School reports
Scrapbooks
Sketch books
Sound recordings (Films; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes; Videos; Wax cylinders)
Textbooks

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
Erik Chisholm catalogue (electronic).

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Ashworth, Alexander Hargreaves
Call number  BC 647
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 22 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Music Manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes; Posters; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Composer, teacher and music and art critic.

 

Bell, William Henry
Call number  BC 212 ; TPA BELL
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 218 items (TPA); 48 pamphlet boxes; 15 oversize folders.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Autograph books; Catalogues; Contracts; Correspondence; Diaries; Lectures; Music manuscripts; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contains manuscripts of Bell and his students.

 

Bini, Albina
Call number  BC 889
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 66 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Textbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Boniface, Charles Etienne
Call number  BC 360
Type Western art music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes.
Acquisition Purchased.
Notes Purchased at Dorothea Fairbridge sale in Cape Town in 1945. Guitar method.

Collections C-D

Cape Town City Ballet
Call number  BC 1177
Type Western art music.
Extent 80 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notation scores; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Cape Town Performing Arts Board (CAPAB) and Cape Town City Ballet.

 

Cape Town Performing Arts Programmes
Call number  BC 1550
Type Western art music.
Extent 5 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Performing arts programmes: ballet, opera, musicals, theatre and orchestral and vocal music.

 

Cecilia Wessels Miscellany
Call number  BC 1230
Type Western art music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Annual reports; Correspondence; Memoranda; Objets d'art (Prints); Posters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Chisholm, Erik
Call number  BC 129; TPA CHI
Type Western art music.
Extent 168 items (TPA); ca 3000 items (BC 129).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Broadcasts; Brochures; Certificates; Contracts; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; School reports; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contains information on the Active Society for the Promotion of Contemporary Music and the Operatic Society in Glasgow. Contains correspondence from well-known composers and musicians. Includes newspaper cuttings on the Eoan Opera Group.

 

Circus and Theatre Miscellany
Call number  BC 1449
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Newsletters; Posters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Theatrical and musical performances.

 

Composers' Music Scores
Call number  TPA
Type Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Catalogue available for general collection (composers and BMus students). Separate finding aids for collections of individual composers. Online catalogues for works of Erik Chisholm and Thomas Rajna.
Composers include: Hubert du Plessis (TPA DUP), Stuart Findlay (TPA FIN), Eric Grant (TPA GRA), Stefans Grové (TPA GRO), Victor Hely-Hutchinson (see also BC 685 and BCZB 95/7363), Leslie Heward, John Joubert (TPA JOU), Giuseppe Paganelli (see also BC 1104 and BCS538), Colin Taylor (see also BC 76 and BCZA 93/8469), Maurice E.W. Whittaker (BC 663; TPA WHIT), Bernard van Dieren (TPA VAN) and Arnold van Wyk.
Major collections of individual composers include: William Henry Bell (see also BC 212), Alan Bush, Erik Chisholm (see also BC129 and BC1396), Malcolm Forsyth (see also BC 1265), Blanche Gerstman (see also BC 673), Friedrich (FH) Hartmann, Peter Klatzow, Priaulx Rainier (see also BC 957), Thomas Rajna and Alicia Slater

 

Cree, Edgar
Call number  BC 1444
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Programmes; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Dederick, Robert
Call number  BC 996
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 1200 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Broadcasts; Correspondence; Diaries; Notes; Personal documents.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of Robert St. Clair Dederick.

 

De Kock, S.J.
Call number  BC 590
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notes; Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Books related to Servaas Johannes de Kock, teacher at Tot Nut van't Algemene Skool, Cape Town.

 

Doris Lardner Memorabilia
Call number  BC 808
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 580 items; 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Catalogues; Certificates; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Periodicals; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also BC 1322.

 

Doris Lardner Miscellany
Call number  BC 1322
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notes; Certificates; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also BC 808.

 

Du Plessis, Hubert
Call number  TPA DUP
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Richard Lilienfeld, BC 692 (UCT).

Collections E-F

English Folk Dance Society Collection
Call number  BC 691
Type

Folk music.

Extent 12 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Findlay, Stuart
Call number  TPA FIN
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Forsyth, Malcolm
Call number  TPA FOR
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 65 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Composer.
Mostly compositions submitted for BMus Degree.
Includes materials donated via Kathy Primos for doctoral dissertation.

Collections G-H

Gerstman, Blanche
Call number  BC 673; TPA GER
Type

Western art music.

Extent ca. 121 items (TPA); ca. 160 items (BC 673).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Grainger, Percy
Call number  BC 75
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 545 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Brochures; Newspaper cuttings; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Grant, Erik
Call number  TPA GRA
Type Western art music.
Extent 152 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Greathead, Lucy
Call number  BC 744
Type Western art music.
Extent 30 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Singer and lecturer at the South African College of Music, University of Cape Town.

 

Gregorio Fiasconaro Memorabilia
Call number  BC 952
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 206 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d'art (Portraits); Photographs; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Slides.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Grové, Stefans
Call number  TPA GRO
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Gutsche, Thelma
Call number  BC 703
Type Military music; Western art music.
Extent 29 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
ScScope and content

Artefacts; Articles; Broadcasts; Certificates; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Programmes; School reports; Sound recordings (Films).

Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hall, Elsie
Call number  BC 10 ; TPA HAL
Type Western art music.
Extent 578 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Articles; Brochures; Correspondence; Diaries; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d'art (Pencil sketches; Prints); Periodicals; Photographs; Schedules; Scrapbooks.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hartmann, Friedrich Helmut
Call number  TPA HAR
Type Western art music.
Extent 14 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
ScScope and content

Music manuscripts.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hely-Hutchinson, Victor
Call number  BC 685; TPA HHL
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 40 items (BC 685); 192 items (TPA).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Broadcasts; Catalogues; Lectures; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Personal documents.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Herring Bequest Collection
Call number  BC 1157
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Artefacts; Bequest documents; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Drawings; Portraits; Prints; Sketches); Photographs.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of music teacher Elizabeth Herring.

Collections I-J

Joubert, John
Call number  TPA JOU
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Joubert, Manuel
Call number  BC 314
Type Western art music.
Extent 23 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of music critic and musicologist Dr Manuel Joubert.

Collections K-L

Kirby / Bloom Papers
Call number  BC 1513
Type African music; Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent 0.5 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Mary Bloom (Mary Wayburne), student of Percival Kirby.

 

Kirby, PR
Call number  BC 750
Type African music; Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 1500 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Articles; Bibliographies; Correspondence; Monographs; Musical instruments; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Drawings); Periodicals; Photographic negatives; Photographs; Printed music; Slides; Sound recordings (Wax cylinders).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Wax cylinders in poor condition: they have been digitized. See also music instrument collection at South African College of Music (UCT) and UCT Music Library.

 

Klatzow, Peter
Call number  TPA KLA
Type Western art music.
Extent 108 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Kraus, Lili
Call number  BC 712
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 160 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contralto and singing teacher.

 

Latrou, Angelo
Call number  BC 740
Type Popular music.
Extent ca. 450 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Reel tapes; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lilienfeld, Richard
Call number  BC 692
Type Western art music.
Extent 39 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Mainly correspondence with Hubert du Plessis.

Collections M-N

Manuscripts and Archives in Microform (UCT)
Call number  BCZ
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 500 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Microfiche; Microfilms.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes BCZA 93/8469: Peter Warlock. Correspondence.
BCZB 95/7363: Victor Hely-Hutchinson. Album containing programmes and newspaper cuttings. Original manuscripts in British Library.

 

Marx, Beatrice
Call number  BC 363
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 500 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts (includes personal items); Brochures; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; School reports; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Founded the first orchestra in Johannesburg, South Africa in 1910.

 

Mulder collection
Call number  BC 207
Type Western art music.
Extent 1461 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Broadcasts; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of poet Hendrik Adolph Mulder (Willem Hessels). Includes setting of his 'Arabesk' by Rosa Nepgen.

 

Musical Times
Call number  BCS 31
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Photographic copy of parts of handwritten journal.

 

Niay-Darroll, Apolline
Call number  BC 656
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 40 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Norton, W.A.
Call number  BC 40
Type African music; Liturgical music.
Extent 16 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Diaries Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Printed music; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Professor of Bantu Philology.

Collections O-P

Paganelli, Guiseppe
Call number  BC 1104; TPA PAG
Type Western art music.
Extent 8 items (TPA); 6 pamphlet boxes (BC 1104).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Certificates; Contracts; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Personal documents; Photographs; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Teacher, composer, tenor and opera producer.
See also Single Manuscript Items (UCT) BCS 538.

 

Philharmonia Choir of Cape Town
Call number  BC 1338
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 29 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Minutes; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Pickerill, William J.
Call number  TPA PIC
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Pullen Song
Call number  BC 588
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts (copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items of Dr E.D. Pullen.

 

Pulvermacher, Gunther
Call number  BC 1481
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 8 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Articles; Broadcasts; Lectures; Notes; Speeches.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections Q-R

Racster, Olga
Call number  BC 73
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Notes by Olga Racster for articles in the Grove Dictionary of Music.

 

Rainier, Priaulx
Call number  BC 957; TPA RAI
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 400 items (BC 957); 3 items (TPA).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Articles; Catalogues; Lecture notes; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Reviews.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Rajna, Thomas
Call number  TPA RAJNA
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 39 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (includes photocopies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Redvers Llewellyn Memorabilia
Call number  BC 910
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 37 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Objets d'art (Portraits; Sketches); Periodicals; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Rodger, Jacobus
Call number  BC 108; BC 244
Type Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 28 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Written inventory.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Certificates; Music manuscripts (Tonic Solfa); Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items regarding Tonic Solfa College.

Collections S-T

Selley, Robert
Call number  BC 1566
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes City organist and Director of Music, Port Elizabeth.

 

Single Compositions (UCT)
Call number  TPA
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 273 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Works by various composers. Includes compositions and arrangements by students.

 

Single Manuscript Items (UCT)
Call number  BCS
Type Western art music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artworks; Correspondence; Microfilms; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes

BCS 269: Evangelistarium solemnitatum nativitatis. Latin missal. Music in square notation.
BCS 380: William Boyce. Microfilm of music at BCZA91/7379-7385. Original copies at the British Museum, Fitzwilliam Museum and Bodleian Library.
BCS 435: Herring Bequest autograph book.
BCS 538: Paganelli album. Contains correspondence, newspaper cuttings and photographs of Paganelli's Passion Play in 1945. See also BC 1104 and TPA PAG.
BCS 620: South African College song.
BCS 641: John Dronsfield ballet sketch.

Smith, Barry
Call number  BC 1042
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 35 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Broadcasts; Brochures; Certificates; Contracts; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; School reports; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Organist and choir master at St. George's Cathedral, Cape Town.

 

Solomon, Yonty
Call number  TPA SOL
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Sorabji, Kaikosru Shapurji
Call number  TPA SOR
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Erik Chisholm (UCT, BC 129).

 

South African Composers' Letters (UCT)
Call number  BC 162
Type Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 20 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (Electronic and print) on request. Access at Manuscripts and Archives Department.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Letters from South African composers to Peter Hart for his bibliography on South African composers.

 

Strauss-Smith, Lloyd
Call number  BC 1496
Type Western art music.
Extent 16 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (Electronic and print).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Personal documents; Programmes; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music; Slides; Sound recordings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of opera singer and singing teacher Lloyd Strauss-Smith.

 

Talbot, Desiré
Call number  BC 1251; BC 1284
Type Western art music.
Extent 16 pamphlet boxes; 22 sound cassettes (BC 1251); 5 boxes (BC 1284).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print) on request.
Description Language(s) English.td>
ScScope and content Articles; Correspondence; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Taylor, Colin
Call number  BC 76; TPA TAYL
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 500 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Autograph books; Broadcasts; Correspondence; Diaries; Lectures; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d'art (Paintings; Portraits); Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Grammophone records; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also BCZA93/8469. Includes correspondence from Philip Heseltine (Peter Warlock) and Prof. William Henry Bell, and photographs of staff and students at the South African College of Music, University of Cape Town.

Collections U-V

UCT College of Music Photographs
Call number  BC 1412
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

UCT College of Music: Photographs of opera productions
Call number  BC 1284
Type Western art music.
Extent 5 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

University Musical Society
Call number  BC 336
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic)
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Minutes; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes University of Cape Town Musical Society.

 

Van Dieren, Bernard
Call number  TPA VAN
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Microfilm).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections W-Z

Webb, Helen
Call number  BCS 30
Type African music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Wendland Papers
Call number  BC 677
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent 30 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access No list available.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Articles; Notes.
Acquisition By donation and purchased.
Notes Colection of Wend Wilhelm Wolfgang Wedland.

 

Wendt, Theo
Call number  BC 723
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 200 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access No list available.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Articles; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Reviews.
Acquisition By donation and purchased.
Notes Founder of the Cape Town City Orchestra.
Unpublished autobiography.

 

Westphal, EOJ
Call number  BC 1143
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent 9 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Notes; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation and purchased.
Notes Collection includes items relating to research trips of Prof Westphal of the University of Cape Town African Languages Department. Includes recordings of 'Bushmen' language and music.

 

Whittaker, Maurice E.
Call number  BC 663; TPA WHIT
Type Western art music.
Extent 18 items (BC 663); 31 items (TPA).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Handwritten inventory. Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Notes; Scripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -