Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: North West University Potchefstroom

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

 

Mr Martin Nokoane (Manager: Loan Services)
Tel.:  +27 18 299 2783
E-mail:  Martin.Nokoane@nwu.ac.za


Mrs. Retha Badenhorst (Faculty Librarian)
Tel.:  +27 18 299 2808   
E-mail:  Retha.Badenhorst@nwu.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Music Library
Conservatory
Main Campus
Potchefstroom

South Africa
  Ferdinand Postma Library
Private Bag X05
Noordbrug
2522
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

 

Holdings

Collections: 1

Inligtingsentrum vir Suider-Afrikaanse Musiek (ISAM) = Information Centre for Southern African Music (ISAM)
 

Potential acquisitions:

Music and monographs by South African scholars and composers.

Scope and Content

Monographs
Music manuscripts
Printed music
Programmes
Sound Recordings (CDs; DVDs ; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Digitising title and first pages of sheet music. See ISAM.

Collections

ISAM
Call number  ISAM, followed by Dewey number
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 942 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue. See ISAM.
Description Language(s) English; Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Music manuscripts; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; DVDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -