Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: NALN

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Nasionale Afrikaanse Letterkundige Museum (NALN)

Contact

Mr Wyno Simes (Curator)
Tel.: +27 51 405 4013
E-mail: simes.w@sacr.fs.gov.za

Mrs Nola Doray
Tel.: +27 51 405 4124
E-mail:
nola.naln@sacr.fs.gov.za

Ms Lacia Viljoen
Tel: +27 51 405 4711
E-mail: naln@sacr.fs.gov.za
 

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
NALN
Cnr. Pres. Brand- and Miriam Makeba Street
Bloemfontein
9301
South Africa
  NALN
Private Bag X20543
Bloemfontein
9300
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 280

  1. Adam, Alf
  2. Afrikaanse Taal- en Kultuurvereniging (ATKV)
  3. Afrikaner-Volkswag
  4. Albertse, P.J.
  5. Andresen, Olaf
  6. Anonymous Donations
  7. Aucamp, Hennie
  8. AVBOB
  9. Barnard, J.C.
  10. Barry, Cecil
  11. Barry, Rhoda
  12. Beecroft, C.
  13. Beecroft, John
  14. Bell, E.S.L.
  15. Beria Drukkery (Edms Bpk)
  16. Beukes, Isolde
  17. Bezuidenhout, Coen F.
  18. Bezuidenhout, E.G.N.
  19. Bezuidenhout, Stella
  20. Blignaut, O.A. [collection]
  21. Bond van Oud-Studente
  22. Böning, F.J.P.
  23. Boshoff, L.P.
  24. Boshoff, P. H.
  25. Bosman, E.C.L.
  26. Bosman, F.C.L.
  27. Botha, Danie
  28. Botha, Karolien
  29. Botha, Victor
  30. Bouwer, N.J.
  31. Bouws, Jan
  32. Bremer, Jeanette
  33. Brink, E.C.
  34. Brink, M.B.
  35. Brink, Truida-Marie
  36. Brittz, M.S.
  37. Britz, H.
  38. Brönn, A.P.
  39. Cachet, J.L.
  40. Casaleggio, M.
  41. Cassidy, C.
  42. Cillié, G.G.
  43. Cilliers, E.
  44. Cilliers, Louise 
  45. Cloete, A.M.S.
  46. Coates, F.
  47. Coertse, Mimi
  48. Combrinck, Louis
  49. Cronjé, M.C.
  50. Daneel, E.C.
  51. De Beer, J.J.
  52. De Graaff, Hilda
  53. De Klerk, J.H.
  54. De Kock, M.
  55. Delport, Susan
  56. De Ridder, Cecile
  57. De Smidt, E.
  58. De Villiers, Dirkie
  59. De Villiers Family
  60. De Villiers, J.A.M.
  61. De Villiers, P.J.
  62. De Villiers, Rocco
  63. De Vos, Phillip
  64. Dramatic, Artistic and Literary Rights Organisation (DALRO)
  65. Driesse, E.H.
  66. Du Plessis, Hubert
  67. Du Plessis, Louis
  68. Du Toit, Helena
  69. Du Toit, T.C.
  70. Ellis, J.M.
  71. Els, D.
  72. Engela, Dawid
  73. Erasmus, Mollie
  74. Eysele, J.
  75. Eyssen, Stephen
  76. Finnemore, C.
  77. Foorn, R.A.
  78. Fourie, Annatjie
  79. Fourie, E.H.
  80. Galwaho, S.
  81. Gibson, Dean
  82. Greyling, J.D.
  83. Groenewald, Con
  84. Grosskopf, M.B.
  85. Grové, H.A.
  86. Haarburger, H.
  87. Hamman, K.
  88. Hartman, Anton
  89. Hartman, Jossie
  90. HAUM Boekhandel
  91. Havemann, G.
  92. Heese, Marie
  93. Heiberg, Dolly
  94. Hendrikse, Salomé
  95. Henning, J.A.
  96. Herbst, M.E.
  97. Hillig, R.
  98. Hitchcock, Irene
  99. Hitge, M.
  100. Hoven, E.V.S. [collection]
  101. Human, Japie
  102. Human, J.L.K.
  103. Hurley, J.
  104. Hutchings, S.
  105. Immelman, Niel
  106. Inghels, K.
  107. Jannasch, O.T.
  108. Jansen, Sarie
  109. Johannesburg Public Library
  110. Johannes Stegmann-Teater
  111. Jooste, M.
  112. Jordaan, Marie
  113. Joubert, Johannes [Hayden Thomas Matthews]
  114. Kaapse Raad vir Uitvoerende Kunste (KRUIK)
  115. Karstel, Dewald
  116. Karstel, O.A.
  117. Keet, A.D.
  118. Kelly, Jack
  119. Knox, Ellie
  120. Kolver, Elsa
  121. Koninklike Akademie vir Wetenschappen, Letteren en Schone Kunste
  122. Kratz, Anton
  123. Kriel, A.M.
  124. Kriel, D.C.J.
  125. Kriel, M.
  126. Kriel-Susters
  127. Kromhout, Frans
  128. Kromhout, Jan ; Kromhout, Dr. J.
  129. Kruger, Gideon
  130. Lambrechts, D.A.
  131. Langenhoven, P.H.
  132. Lategan, J.
  133. Lemmer, P.J.
  134. Le Roux, Pietie
  135. Liebenberg, A.
  136. Liebenberg, E.L.
  137. Lindeque, M.E.
  138. Linström, J.G.
  139. Loots, I.D.
  140. Loubser, J.W.
  141. Louw, B.
  142. Louw, Mira
  143. Lubbe, W.P.
  144. Mansveldt, C.M.
  145. Marais, A.
  146. Marais, D.B.
  147. Marais, D.
  148. Marais, Leonora
  149. Marais, Paul
  150. Marais, S. le Roux
  151. McCallaghan, Pat
  152. Mitchley, R.G.
  153. Mocke, C.M.
  154. Mocke, S.I.
  155. Nasionale Museum
  156. Naude, M.
  157. Naude, W.
  158. Nederduits Gereformeerde Kerkboekhandel
  159. Nederduits Gereformeerde Kerk
  160. Neethling-Pohl, Anna
  161. Nel, Charles
  162. Nel, L.M.
  163. Nelson, A.M.
  164. Newspaper Cuttings (NALN)
  165. Nienaber, Calie
  166. Nienaber, G.S.
  167. Nienaber, P.J.
  168. Olivier, G.
  169. Onderwysmuseum, Pretoria
  170. Oosthuizen, M.
  171. Openbare Biblioteek, Bloemfontein
  172. Oxtoby, Richard
  173. Payne, George
  174. Pellissier, M van Z.
  175. Petrick, A.T.
  176. Petzer, Annie
  177. Pieterson, H.P.
  178. Pohl, Jan
  179. Ponder, M.M.
  180. Potgieter, E.
  181. Potgieter, S.
  182. Potgieter, T.D.
  183. Pretorius, M.
  184. Prinsloo, E.
  185. Prinsloo, H.
  186. Prinsloo, Rudie
  187. Provinsiale Sekretaris, Pietermaritzburg
  188. Raad vir Geesteswetenskaplike Navorsing (RGN) = Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC)
  189. Raad vir Nasionale Gedenkwaardighede, Kaapstad
  190. Raath, A.
  191. Raath, D.
  192. Raath, J.
  193. Ramage, Johann
  194. Richfield, Sydney
  195. Robb, G.M.
  196. Rodley, C.S.
  197. Roeland-Uitgaven
  198. Roode, D.J.
  199. Rossouw, Elsa
  200. Rossouw, J.A. [collection]
  201. Rothmann, A.
  202. Roux, André
  203. Rudolph, Anna
  204. Savarize, G.B.
  205. Schoeman, P.R.
  206. Schutte, Danie
  207. Segal, Charles
  208. Serfontein, H.
  209. Setlogelo, G.L.S.
  210. Simes, Wyno
  211. Smith, M.S.
  212. Smit, H.S.
  213. Southern African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO)
  214. Spies, A.
  215. Stadsraad van Potchefstroom
  216. Steenkamp, Gertrude
  217. Stegmann, Frits
  218. Stevens, Christine
  219. Steyn, Elna
  220. Steyn, Neels
  221. Stofberg, Jan
  222. Streeksbiblioteek: Direktoraat Inligtingsdiens en Erfenis
  223. Streeksraad vir Uitvoerende Kunste van die Oranje-Vrystaat (SUKOVS)
  224. Streekverteenwoordiger van Onderwys
  225. Stroebel, Lize
  226. Strydom, M.
  227. Suid-Afrikaanse Koorvereniging
  228. Taljaard, Kobus
  229. Teaterbystandfonds
  230. Terblanche, Ds.
  231. Toerien, Cora
  232. Transvaalse Raad vir Uitvoerende Kunste (TRUK)
  233. Uhlmann, H.L.B.
  234. Universiteit van die Oranje-Vrystaat: Biblioteek- en Inligtingsdiens
  235. Universiteit van Suid-Afrika (UNISA)
  236. Uringer, Sybrand
  237. Uys, C.J.
  238. Uys, Glen
  239. Van Broekhuizen, J.
  240. Van Coppen, H.
  241. Van de Graaf, Henk
  242. Van den Heever, M.H. en Bierman, O.
  243. Van der Bank, D.A.
  244. Van der Bent, Florence Letitia
  245. Van der Graaf, J.
  246. Van der Merwe, Frances
  247. Van der Merwe, Nellie - 
  248. Van der Merwe, Y.M.
  249. Van der Tas, G.
  250. Van der Walt, Hettie
  251. Van der Walt, Jan-Stefan
  252. Van Eck, G.
  253. Van Eck, H.
  254. Van Eeden, Suzanne
  255. Van Jaarsveld, D.
  256. Van Rensburg, Japie
  257. Van Rooyen, Bouwer
  258. Van Schalkwyk, E.
  259. Van Vuuren, S.J.
  260. Venter, Albie
  261. Venter, Berna
  262. Venter, Chris
  263. Venter, C.L.
  264. Viljoen, F.J.
  265. Visser, Lil
  266. Visser, N.
  267. Viviers, E.
  268. Vorster, S.J.
  269. Vos, Reintje
  270. Vrystaatse Jeugkoor
  271. Vrystaatse Musiekvereniging
  272. Wallbridge, R.L.A.
  273. Weitz, H.H.
  274. Welman, Dan
  275. Wepener, A.M.
  276. Wessels, L.
  277. Wessels, M.E.
  278. Wilkinson, J.
  279. Willemse, T.
  280. Zager, A.

Potential acquisitions:

None. Only press cuttings continually updated and donations of individual items.

Scope and Content

Address books
Agendas
Annual reports
Architectural plans
Artefacts (Baton; Glasses; Hat; Medals; Paint; Paintbrushes; Stationery; Trophies)
Articles
Attendance registers
Bibliographies
Broadcasts
Brochures
Bulletins
Calendars
Catalogues
Certificates (Honorary Doctorates)
Constitutional documents
Correspondence
Curricula
Diaries
Financial documents
Furniture
Interviews
Lectures
Libretti
Maps
Minutes
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Musical instruments
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Objets d’art (Busts; Caricatures; Paintings; Reproductions of paintings; Sketches; Woodcuts)
Official documents
Periodicals
Personal documents
Photographic negatives
Photographs
Posters
Printed music
Programmes
Reports
Reviews
Schedules
School reports
Scrapbooks
Scripts
Seating plans
Sketchbooks (Painting)
Slides
Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos)
Speeches
Stamps
Statutes
Telephone Directories
Textbooks
Textiles (Clothing/Costumes; Curtains; Flags)
Tickets

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U   V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Adam, Alf
Call number  M250
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Radio.

 

Afrikaanse Taal- en Kultuurvereniging (ATKV)
Call number  M170
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Programmes of ATKV Forte music competition.

 

Afrikaner-Volkswag
Call number  M248
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Albertse, P.J.
Call number  M82
Type Music education.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Slides.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Andresen, Olaf
Call number  M2
Type Military music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 15 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Annual reports; Artefacts; Articles; Awards; Caricatures; Certificates; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Official documents; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Havemann, G. (NALN M315) and Liebenberg, E.L. (NALN M266).

 

Anonymous Donations
Call number  M68
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 76 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Catalogues; Certificates; Correspondence; Monographs; Photographs; Printed music; Posters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Aucamp, Hennie
Call number  M302
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Posters.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

AVBOB
Call number  M297
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Barnard, J.C.
Call number  M52
Type Popular music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music (copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Barry, Cecil
Call number  M198
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Barry, Rhoda
Call number  M233
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Beecroft, C.
Call number  M278
Type Western art music.
Extent 9 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Photographs of Cecilia Wessels.

 

Beecroft, John
Call number  M189
Type Western art music.
Extent 327 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Articles; Catalogues; Certificates; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Materials regarding Cecilia Wessels.

 

Bell, E.S.L.
Call number  M94
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 22 items.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Maps; Music manuscripts; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Beria Drukkery (Edms Bpk)
Call number  M223
Type Music education.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Beukes, Isolde
Call number  M255
Type Western art music.
Extent 91 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Documentation relating to dissertation on P.J. Lemmer.

 

Bezuidenhout, Coen F.
Call number  M156
Type Military music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 19 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bezuidenhout, E.G.N.
Call number  M14
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bezuidenhout, Stella
Call number  M140
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 114 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Catalogues; Notes (Questionnaires); Photographic negatives; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Documents relating to dissertation, Orrelbou in die Oranje-Vrystaat; includes research documents used for the dissertation.

 

Blignaut, O.A.
Call number  M96
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 26 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Brochures; Certificates; Music manuscripts; Monographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bond van Oud-Studente
Call number  M112
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Posters.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Böning, F.J.P.
Call number  M31
Type Military music; Western art music.
Extent 8 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Boshoff, L.P.
Call number  M237
Type Popular music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Tickets.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Boshoff, P.H.
Call number  M194
Type Music education.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bosman, E.C.L.
Call number  M244
Type Western art music.
Extent 8 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Bouws, Jan (NALN M9 ; M20 ; M246).

 

Bosman, F.C.L.
Call number  M171
Type Western art music.
Extent 8 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Botha, Danie
Call number  M304
Type Popular music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Botha, Karolien
Call number  M113
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Botha, Victor
Call number  M84
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bouwer, N.J.
Call number  M143
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 79 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bouws, Jan
Call number  M9; M20; M246
Type Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 1370 items; 173 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Agendas; Artefacts; Articles; Brochures; Catalogues; Certificates (Honorary Doctorates); Correspondence; Financial documents; Furniture; Interviews; Minutes; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Musical instruments; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Paintings); Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Reports; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Nienaber, P.J. (NALN M21); See also Bosman, E.C.L. (NALN M244); Includes documentation relating to the Bouws book, Solank daar musiek is; Includes some documents on the Cape Corps.

 

Bremer, Jeanette
Call number  M201
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 62 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Certificates; Music manuscripts; Notes; Printed music; Textbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Brink, E.C.
Call number  M301
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 49 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Curricula; Minutes; Monographs; Printed music; Programmes; Schedules.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Documentation regarding Kunswedstryde.

 

Brink, M.B.
Call number  M152
Type Liturgical music; Military music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Brink, Truida-Marie
Call number  M22
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Brittz, M.S.
Call number  M226
Type Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Britz, H.
Call number  M62; M103
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 114 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Periodicals; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Brönn, A.P.
Call number  M245
Type Folk music; Liturgical music.
Extent 56 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections C-D

Cachet, J.L.
Call number  M177
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 56 items.
Level of description Afrikaans.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Casaleggio, M.
Call number  M256
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content -
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Cassidy, C.
Call number  M305
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Cillié, G.G.
Call number  M190
Type Folk music; Military music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Cilliers, E.
Call number  M280
Type Western art music.
Extent 13 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Cilliers, Louise
Call number  M265
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Cloete, A.M.S.
Call number  M173
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 9 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Coates, F.
Call number  M69
Type Western art music.
Extent 8 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Notes; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Coertse, Mimi
Call number  M307
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Combrinck, Louis
Call number  M241
Type Popular music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Cronjé, M.C.
Call number  M216
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 46 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Daneel, E.C.
Call number  M33
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Beer, J.J.
Call number  M185
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 55 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content AMonographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Graaff, Hilda
Call number  M285
Type Western art music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Donated by the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) = Raad vir Geesteswetenskaplike Navorsing (RGN).

 

De Klerk, J.H.
Call number  M166
Type Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 12 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound Recordings (Gramophone Records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Kock, M.
Call number  M224
Type Folk music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 62 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Notes; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Delport, Susan
Call number  M41
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music Manuscripts ; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Ridder, Cecile
Call number  M127
Type Folk music.
Extent 63 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Certificates; Monographs; Periodicals; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of Nasionale Raad vir Volksang en Volkspele.

 

De Smidt, E.
Call number  M18
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Villiers, Dirkie
Call number  M12; M46
Type Folk music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 35 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Woodcuts); Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also De Villiers Family (NALN M53).

 

De Villiers Family
Call number  M53
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 6030 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content

Annual reports; Architectural plans; Artefacts (Includes printing blocks and personal items); Articles; Awards; Bibliographies; Brochures; Calendars; Catalogues; Certificates; Correspondence; Lectures; Minutes; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Printed music; Programmes; Reviews; School reports; Sound recordings (Gramophone records); Speeches.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes "Skenker: De Villiers, M.L., Kaptein J. en Mnr. D.I.C [Dirkie]".

 

De Villiers, J.A.M.
Call number  M162
Type Western art music.
Extent 61 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs ; Music manuscripts ; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Villiers, P.J.
Call number  M25
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 16 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Includes copies) ; Notes ; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Villiers, Rocco
Call number  M1
Type Western art music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Includes personal items: Baton ; Hat) ; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

De Vos, Phillip
Call number  M274
Type Western art music.
Extent 195 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Broadcasts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Dramatic, Artistic and Literary Rights Organisation (DALRO)
Call number  M110
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 126 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Catalogues; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Driesse, E.H.
Call number  M268
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Du Plessis, Hubert
Call number  M81
Type Western art music.
Extent 45 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Diaries; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Du Plessis, Louis
Call number  M132
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music; Sound recordings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Du Toit, Helena
Call number  M257
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Du Toit, T.C.
Call number  M191
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections E-F

Ellis, J.M.
Call number  M158
Type Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 39 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts ; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Documents pertaining to Arthur Ellis.

 

Els, D.
Call number  M78
Type Western art music.
Extent 79 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Address books; Artefacts (Includes personal items); Diaries; Music manuscripts; Posters; Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Engela, Dawid
Call number  M17; M23; M24
Type Western art music.
Extent 131 items.
Level of description Ssorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Includes personal items); Correspondence; Furniture; Music manuscripts; Monographs; Musical instruments; Objets d’art (Sketches); Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Scrapbooks; Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Erasmus, Mollie
Call number  M291
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Eysele, J.
Call number  M254
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Eyssen, Stephen
Call number  M38; M284
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 60 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Stationery); Awards; Brochures; Calendars; Certificates; Furniture; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Objets d’art (Sketches; Busts); Photographs; Printed music; Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes M284 donated by the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) = Raad vir Geesteswetenskaplike Navorsing (RGN).

 

Finnemore, C.
Call number  M180
Type Popular music.
Extent 58 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Foorn, R.A.
Call number  M208
Type Popular music.
Extent 25 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Fourie, Annatjie
Call number  M234
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Fourie, E.H.
Call number  M167
Type Popular music.
Extent 19 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections G-H

Galwaho, S.
Call number  M59
Type African music.
Extent 12 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (copies); Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Gibson, Dean
Call number  M144
Type Western art music.
Extent 25 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Greyling, J.D.
Call number  M176
Type Western art music.
Extent 41 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Documentation for dissertation, Die musiek van Dawid Sofius Engela.

 

Groenewald, Con
Call number  M129
Type Western art music.
Extent 11 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contains items of George Payne. See also Payne, George (NALN M120 ; M136).

 

Grosskopf, M.B.
Call number  M259
Type Anthems; Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Grové, H.A.
Call number  M217
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Haarburger, H.
Call number  M98
Type Western art music.
Extent 22 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Prints); Photographs; Seating plans; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hamman, K.
Call number  M130
Type Western art music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hartman, Anton
Call number  M108
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Calendars.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Hartman, Jossie (NALN M210).

 

Hartman, Jossie
Call number  M210
Type Western art music.
Extent 84 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Medals); Awards; Certificates; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Pencil sketches); Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Anton Hartman materials. See also Hartman, Anton (NALN M108).

 

HAUM Boekhandel
Call number  M214
Type Music education.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Havemann, G.
Call number  M315
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Notes (Manuscripts).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items relating to Olaf Andresen. See also Andresen, Olaf (NALN M2) and Liebenberg, E.L. (NALN M266).

 

Heese, Marie
Call number  M219
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items relating to J.S. (Jan Orrelis) de Villiers. See also Hutchings, S. (NALN M10; M40).

 

Heiberg, Dolly
Call number  M47
Type Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 796 items.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Awards; Brochures; Certificates; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Programmes; Reports; Scrapbooks; Schedules.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hendrikse, Salomé
Call number  M298
Type Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 42 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Certificates; Correspondence; Maps; Music manuscripts; Personal documents.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Henning, J.A.
Call number  M134
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Herbst, M.E.
Call number  M26
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hillig, R.
Call number  M229
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 19 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hitchcock, Irene
Call number  M251
Type Folk music; Liturgical music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hitge, M.
Call number  M310
Type Folk music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Notes; Photographic negatives; Photographs; Sound recordings (Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hoven, E.V.S.
Call number  M169
Type Western art music.
Extent 111 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Human, Japie
Call number  M161
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Photographs; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Human, J.L.K.
Call number  M32
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hurley, J.
Call number  M107
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Diaries; Music manuscripts; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Hutchings, S.
Call number  M210; M40
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 160 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Annual reports; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items of Jan Orrelis [J.S. de Villiers] and Nancy de Villiers. See also Heese, Marie (NALN M219).

Collections I-J

Immelman, Niel
Call number  M296
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 35 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Newspaper cuttings; Notes ;Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Reviews; Sound Recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Radio.

 

Inghels, K.
Call number  M123
Type Western art music.
Extent 19 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Photocopies; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Jannasch, O.T.
Call number  M64
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Copies); Photographs; Programmes; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Jansen, Sarie
Call number  M258
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Johannesburg Public Library
Call number  M92
Type Military music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Bibliographies.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Valerie Bryer: Professor Percival Robson Kirby: A bibliography of his works.

 

Johannes Stegmann-Teater
Call number  M273
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Bulletins.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Jooste, M.
Call number  M109
Type Anthems; Folk music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Jordaan, Marie
Call number  M76
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Joubert, Johannes [Hayden Thomas Matthews]
Call number  M73
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 8 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Address books; Financial documents; Music manuscripts; Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Donated by the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) = Raad vir Geesteswetenskaplike Navorsing (RGN).

Collections K-L

Kaapse Raad vir UItvoerende Kunste (KRUIK)
Call number  M90
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 569 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Annual reports; Articles; Brochures; Monographs; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Printed music; Posters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Karstel, Dewald
Call number  M15
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Karstel, O.A.
Call number  M4; M6; M11; M19
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 59 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Music manuscripts; Musical instruments; Notes; Periodicals; Printed music; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes); Textiles.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Loubser, J.W. (NALN M262) and Wepener, A.M. (NALN M171).

 

Keet, A.D.
Call number  M36
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 14 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Kelly, Jack
Call number  M264
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Knox, Ellie
Call number  M308
Type Folk music; Liturgical music.
Extent 117 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Catalogues; Certificates; Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Textiles (Clothing; Flags).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Kolver, Elsa
Call number  M232
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Koninklike Akademie vir Wetenschappen, Letteren en Schone Kunste
Call number  M111
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Kratz, Anton
Call number  M100
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Textiles (Handkerchiefs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Kriel, A.M.
Call number  M200
Type Folk music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 124 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Brochures; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Kriel, M. (NALN M121).

 

Kriel, D.C.J.
Call number  M163
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 14 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Kriel, M.
Call number  M121
Type Folk music; Liturgical music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Kriel A.M. (NALN M200).

 

Kriel-Susters
Call number  M306
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Kromhout, Frans
Call number  M65
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 16 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Materials regarding Cecilia Wessels.

 

Kromhout, Jan; Kromhout, Dr. J.
Call number  M57; M63
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 374 items.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Artefacts (Includes personal items); Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Posters; Printed music; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Kruger, Gideon
Call number  M150
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lambrechts, D.A.
Call number  M99
Type Western art music.
Extent 10 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content AMusic manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Langenhoven, P.H.
Call number  M242
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 11 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lategan, J.
Call number  M138; M212
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lemmer, P.J.
Call number  M5; M8; M35
Type Military music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 188 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Medals; Trophies); Articles; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Le Roux, Pietie
Call number  M70
Type Folk music.
Extent 31 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Includes personal items); Articles; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Posters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes [Boeremusiek].

 

Liebenberg, A.
Call number  M243
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Liebenberg, E.L.
Call number  M266
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 16 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Libretti; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Olaf Andresen operettas ; See also Andresen, Olaf (NALN M2) and Havemann, G. (NALN M315).

 

Lindeque, M.E.
Call number  M213
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Linström, J.G.
Call number  M187
Type Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 49 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Loots, I.D.
Call number  M240
Type Western art music.
Extent 496 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Includes personal items); Monographs; Notes; Photographs; Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items belonged to Bosman di Ravelli.

 

Loubser, J.W.
Call number  M262
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Daughter of O.A. Karstel ; See also Karstel, O.A. (NALN M4; M6; M11; M19).

 

Louw, B.
Call number  M211
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Louw, Mira
Call number  M80
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Lubbe, W.P.
Call number  M183
Type Liturgical music; Popular music.
Extent 9 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections M-N

Mansveldt, C.M.
Call number  M77
Type Western art music.
Extent 11 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Articles; Correspondence; Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Radio.

 

Marais, A.
Call number  M178
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Marais, D.B.
Call number  M34
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Music of S. Le Roux Marais.

 

Marais, D.
Call number  M28
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Marais, Leonora
Call number  M155
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 328 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Medals); Certificates; Correspondence; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Paintings); Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records); Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Materials relating to Johanna Uys.

 

Marais, Paul
Call number  M253
Type Folk music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 33 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Notes; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Paul Marais: Former editor of Die Volksblad. See also Newspaper Cuttings: Die Volksblad at Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA).

 

Marais, S. le Roux
Call number  M160; M286
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 956 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Glasses; Paint; Paintbrushes; Stationery); Awards; Bibliographies; Calendars; Certificates; Correspondence; Furniture; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Musical instruments; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sketchbooks (Art); Sound recordings (Sound cassettes); Textiles (Clothing; Curtains).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes M286 donated by the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) = Raad vir Geesteswetenskaplike Navorsing (RGN). See also Marais, D.B. (NALN M34).

 

McCallaghan, Pat
Call number  M311
Type Western art music.
Extent 279 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Libretti; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Programmes include productions in which Pat MacCallaghan performed: these include SUKOVS productions.

 

Mitchley, R.G.
Call number  M220
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Mocke, C.M.
Call number  M202
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 46 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Mocke, S.I.
Call number  M148
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Nasionale Museum
Call number  M290
Type Western art music.
Extent 76 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Magnetic tapes; Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Sound recordings of radio broadcasts. Includes recordings of Cecilia Wessels.

 

Naude, M.
Call number  M154
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 275 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Naude, W.
Call number  M294
Type Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 111 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Minutes; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Nederduits Gereformeerde Kerkboekhandel
Call number  M131
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Nederduits Gereformeerde Kerk
Call number  M151
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Neethling-Pohl, Anna
Call number  M218
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Nel, Charles
Call number  M16; M 39; M230
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 160 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Includes personal items); Articles; Certificates; Correspondence; Furniture; Lectures; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Musical instruments; Notes; Objets d’art (Paintings); Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Speeches.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Nel, L.M. (NALN M215) and Olivier, G. (NALN M181).

 

Nel, L.M.
Call number  M215
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Nel, Charles (NALN M16; M 39; M230) and Olivier, G. (NALN M181). Nel, L.M.: same accession number as Richard Oxtoby and Provinsiale Sekretaris, Pietermaritzburg (NALN M215).

 

Nelson, A.M.
Call number  M269
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Olivier, G. (NALN M181).

 

Newspaper Cuttings (NALN)
Call number  Mus/Cutting number/Year
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 8 000 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic. Catalogued on DB Text (InMagic). Access in NALN.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes From 1997 to 2006.

 

Nienaber, Calie
Call number  M267
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Nienaber, G.S.
Call number  M27
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Nienaber, P.J.
Call number  M21; M231
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 402 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Lectures; Notes; Periodicals; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contains materials on Jan Bouws. See also Bouws, Jan (NALN M9; M20; M246) and Bosman, E.C.L. (NALN M244).

Collections O-P

Olivier, G.
Call number  M181
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Documentation regarding Charles Nel ; See also Nel, Charles (NALN M16 ; M 39 ; M230) and Nel, L.M. (NALN M215).

 

Onderwysmuseum, Pretoria
Call number  M125
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 27 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Oosthuizen, M.
Call number  M247
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Openbare Biblioteek, Bloemfontein
Call number  M149
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 52 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Annual reports; Music manuscripts; Posters; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Oxtoby, Richard
Call number  M215
Type Western art music.
Extent 19 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Same accession number as L.M. Nel and Provinsiale Sekretaris, Pietermaritzburg.

 

Payne, George
Call number  M120; M136
Type Anthems; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 3061 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Brochures; Bibliographies; Catalogues; Certificates; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Maps; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records); Speeches; Telephone directories.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Groenewald, Con (NALN M129).

 

Pellissier, M. van Z.
Call number  M221
Type Western art music.
Extent 147 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Petrick, A.T.
Call number  M222
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Petzer, Annie
Call number  M54
Type Folk music.
Extent 8 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Certificates; Musical instruments; Photographs; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Pieterson, H.P.
Call number  M303
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Pohl, Jan
Call number  M263
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 222 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photocopies; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Ponder, M.M.
Call number  M260
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Photocopies; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Potgieter, E.
Call number  M13
Type Anthems; Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Potgieter, S.
Call number  M199
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Potgieter, T.D.
Call number  M93
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Pretorius, M.
Call number  M165
Type Western art music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Monographs; Musical intruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Prinsloo, E.
Call number  M270
Type Music education.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Textbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Prinsloo, H.
Call number  M209
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 23 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Prinsloo, Rudie
Call number  M168
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Provinsiale Sekretaris, Pietermaritzburg
Call number  M215
Type Western art music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Same accession number as Richard Oxtoby and L.M. Nel.

Collections Q-R

Raad vir Raad vir Geesteswetenskaplike Navorsing (RGN) = Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC)
Call number  M87
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 89 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Diaries; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items relating to Nancy de Villiers, Bosman di Ravelli and other South African composers.

 

Raad vir Nasionale Gedenkwaardighede, Kaapstad
Call number  M293
Type African music.
Extent 28 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Minutes; Music manuscripts (Copies); Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Copies); Personal documents; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Raath, A.
Call number  M275
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes "Tradisionele Boeremusiek: ‘n Tweede Gedenkalbum".

 

Raath, D.
Call number  M44
Type Liturgical music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Periodicals; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Raath, J.
Call number  M61
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Brochures; Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes a theremin.

 

Ramage, Johann
Call number  M142
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes; Sound recordings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Richfield, Sydney
Call number  M74
Type Western art music.
Extent 13 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Batons; Cufflinks; Medals; Metronomes; Personal items; Stationery; Typewriters); Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Donated by the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) = Raad vir Geesteswetenskaplike Navorsing (RGN).

 

Robb, G.M.
Call number  M91
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Rodley, C.S.
Call number  M43
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Roeland-Uitgaven
Call number  M50
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Roode, D.J.
Call number  M3
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 29 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Monographs; Newspaper cuttings (Copies); Photographs; [Printed music]; Sound recordings (Gramophone records); Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Rossouw, Elsa
Call number  M75
Type Western art music.
Extent 54 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Catalogues; Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Rossouw, J.A.
Call number  M29
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Rothmann, A.
Call number  M292
Type Folk music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Roux, André
Call number  M-
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent ca. 4000 items.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Rudolph, Anna
Call number  M261
Type -
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Furniture.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Chair originally belonging to Stephen Eyssen. See also Stroebel, Lize (NALN M282).

Collections S-T

Savarize, G.B.
Call number  M48
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Schoeman, P.R.
Call number  M83
Type Music education.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Printed music; Objets d’art (Pencil sketches).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Schutte, Danie
Call number  M309
Type Popular music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Segal, Charles
Call number  M67
Type Western art music.
Extent 10 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Serfontein, H.
Call number  M145
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Setlogelo, G.L.S.
Call number  M299
Type African music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Simes, Wyno
Call number  M287
Type Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 20 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Certificates; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Smit, H.S.
Call number  M184
Type Military music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Smith, M.S.
Call number  M283
Type Folk music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Certificates; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Southern African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO)
Call number  M139
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 18 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Brochures; Catalogues; Correspondence; Posters; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Spies, A.
Call number  M239
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Stadsraad van Potchefstroom
Call number  M102
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Steenkamp, Gertrude
Call number  M60
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 119 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Medals); Correspondence; Diaries; Monographs; Musical instruments; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Busts; Drawings; Sketches); Periodicals; Photographs; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings; Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Stegmann, Frits
Call number  M193
Type Western art music.
Extent 166 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Broadcasts; Catalogues; Correspondence; Furniture; Monographs (includes proof copies); Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographic negatives; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Stevens, Christine
Call number  M281
Type Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 559 items.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Broadcasts ; Brochures ; Newspaper cuttings ; Notes ; Personal documents ; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of Lambert Stevens.

 

Steyn, Elna
Call number  M195
Type Anthems; Folk music; Liturgical music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Steyn, Neels
Call number  M56
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Stofberg, Jan
Call number  M295
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Streeksbiblioteek: Direktoraat Inligtingsdiens en Erfenis
Call number  M288
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 24 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Streeksraad vir Uitvoerende Kunste van die Oranje-Vrystaat (SUKOVS)
Call number  M104; M122
Type African music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 396 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Brochures; Newsletters; Periodicals; Posters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Streekverteenwoordiger van Onderwys
Call number  M135
Type -
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Stroebel, Lize
Call number  M282
Type Military music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 4236 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Articles; Certificates; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Paintings; Sketches); Periodicals; Personal documents; Photocopies; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (Gramophone records); Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Strydom, M.
Call number  M235
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Suid-Afrikaanse Koorvereniging
Call number  M300
Type Western art music.
Extent 2000 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Agendas; Attendance registers; Constitutions; Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Notes; Programmes; Reports; Statutes; Tickets.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Taljaard, Kobus
Call number  M141
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 421 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Includes personal items and stationery); Articles; Certificates; Correspondence; Diaries; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Paintings); Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Materials relating to Anton de Waal [George Gunn].

 

Teaterbystandfonds
Call number  M289
Type -
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Textiles (Clothing).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Terblanche, Ds.
Call number  M252
Type Folk music; Military music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Toerien, Cora
Call number  M137
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 75 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Transvaalse Raad vir Uitvoerende Kunste (TRUK)
Call number  M106
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 1644 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Newsletters; Periodicals; Posters; Programmes; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections U

Uhlmann, H.L.B.
Call number  M49
Type Western art music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Universiteit van die Oranje-Vrystaat: Biblioteek- en Inligtingsdiens
Call number  M276
Type Folk music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 43 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Lectures; Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Universiteit van Suid-Afrika (UNISA)
Call number  M133
Type Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Uringer, Sybrand
Call number  M58
Type -
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Uys, C.J.
Call number  M174
Type Music education.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Uys, Glen
Call number  M42
Type -
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Gramophone player.

Collections V

Van Broekhuizen, J.
Call number  M97
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Copies); Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Coppen, H.
Call number  M159
Type -
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van de Graaf, Henk
Call number  M146
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Copies); Newsletters; Programmes; Tickets.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van den Heever, M.H. en Bierman, O.
Call number  M153
Type Western art music.
Extent 18 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Bank, D.A.
Call number  M228
Type Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 132 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Periodicals; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Bent, Florence Letitia
Call number  M203
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Certificates.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Graaf, J.
Call number  M88; M95; M101
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 417 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (Personal items); Bibliographies; Brochures; Catalogues; Financial documents; Monographs; Music manuscripts (Copies); Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Pencil sketches); Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records); Textiles.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes M95: Also contains documents of Nancy de Villiers. M101: Copies of originals relating to Horace Barton. Donated by the Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC) = Raad vir Geesteswetenskaplike Navorsing (RGN).

 

Van der Merwe, Frances
Call number  M192
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Merwe, Nellie
Call number  M30
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Monographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Merwe, Y.M.
Call number  M238
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Tas, G.
Call number  M175
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 11 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Walt, Hettie
Call number  M85
Type -
Extent 9 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts (includes personal items); Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Walt, Jan-Stefan
Call number  M279
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 178 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Newsletters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Eck, G.
Call number  M55
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Monographs; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Eck, H.
Call number  M124
Type Folk music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Eeden, Suzanne
Call number  M236; M227
Type Folk music; Music education.
Extent 9 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Jaarsveld, D.
Call number  M197
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Rensburg, Japie
Call number  M182
Type Folk music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Rooyen, Bouwer
Call number  M314
Type Liturgical music; Military music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 148 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Lectures; Music manuscripts; Notes; Periodicals; Printed music; Programmes; Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Schalkwyk, E.
Call number  M271
Type Folk music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van Vuuren, S.J.
Call number  M37
Type Folk music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Venter, Albie
Call number  M126
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Venter, Berna
Call number  M89; M225
Type Folk music.
Extent 7 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Venter, C.L.
Call number  M249
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 79 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Venter, Chris
Call number  M79
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Viljoen, F.J.
Call number  M86
Type -
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Visser, Lil
Call number  M157
Type Western art music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (includes copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Visser, N.
Call number  M172
Type African music; Popular music.
Extent 129 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Viviers, E.
Call number  M128
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Vorster, S.J.
Call number  M206
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (Copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Vos, Reintje
Call number  M186
Type Folk music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Artefacts; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Vrystaatse Jeugkoor
Call number  M164
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Vrystaatse Musiekvereniging
Call number  M72
Type Western art music.
Extent 9 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections W-Z

Wallbridge, R.L.A.
Call number  M147
Type Western art music.
Extent 10 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Weitz, H.H.
Call number  M204
Type Western art music.
Extent 92 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Welman, Dan
Call number  M71
Type Western art music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Wepener, A.M.
Call number  171
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 10 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music (Copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Karstel, O.A. (NALN M4 ; M6 ; M11 ; M19).

 

Wessels, L.
Call number  M7
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Brochures.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Wessels, M.E.
Call number  M66
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Wilkinson, J.
Call number  M45
Type -
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Willemse, T.
Call number  M207
Type -
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Zager, A.
Call number  M272
Type Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -