Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: SABC Music Library

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

Suzette Lombard (Principal Music Librarian)
Tel.:  +27 11 714 2110
E-mail:  lombards@sabc.co.za

Jacqueline Wilson (Music Librarian)
Tel.:  +27 11 714 2477
E-mail:  wilsonj@sabc.co.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
SABC Music Library
Radiopark Studio Building
Cnr Kingsway and Henley Road
Auckland Park

Johannesburg
South Africa
  SABC Music Library
P.O. Box 931
Auckland Park
Johannesburg
2006
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 3

  1. SABC Orchestra / National Symphony Orchestra
  2. SABC Music Library (Catalogued)
  3. SABC Music Library (Uncatalogued)

 

Potential acquisitions:

African music.

Scope and Content

Agendas
Brochures
Contracts
Correspondence
Financial documents
Inventories
Lending records
Mailing lists
Minutes
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Photographic negatives
Photographs
Posters
Press releases
Printed music
Programme notes
Programmes
Schedules
Speeches

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
Research for scores, programme notes and photographs for a BBC programme on Igor Stravinsky's visit to South Africa.
Searches for original hand-written scores by Peter Klatzow.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Creating a digital catalogue on InMagic DB/Textworks. Will be made available online.

Collections

SABC Orchestra / National Symphony Orchestra
Call number  -
Type African music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 150 items; 11 steel cabinets; 1 folder; 4 m.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Agendas; Brochures; Contracts; Correspondence; Financial documents; Inventories; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographic negatives; Photographs; Posters; Press releases; Programme notes; Programmes; Schedules; Speeches.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

SABC Music Library (Catalogued)
Call number  -
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 870 items; ca. 12.2 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue (Music scores); Programmes arranged according to year; Biographical and programme notes arranged alphabetically.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Financial documents; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Printed music; Programmes; Schedules.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

SABC Music Library (Uncatalogued)
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 31 scrapbooks; ca. 48 m.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Contracts; Correspondence; Financial documents; Lending records; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programme notes; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -