Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: Universty of the Free State: Music Department

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

University of the Free State: Music Department

Contact

Dr. Matildie Thom Wium (Music Department)
Tel.: +27 51 401 2328
E-mail: matildiewium@gmail.com 

Mrs Estie Pretorius (Music Library)
Tel.: +27 51 401 2157
Fax: +27 51 444 5830
E-mail: estie@ufs.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
University of the Free State
205 Nelson Mandela Drive
Park West
Bloemfontein
9301
South Africa
  Department of Music
Internal Box 36
Faculty of the Humanities
University of the Free State
P O Box 339
Bloemfontein
9300
South Africa


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 3

  1. Church Music Collection (UFS)
  2. Strydom, Louwrens
  3. Travers, Noel

Potential acquisitions:

Collection of Arnold Bosman (composer-conductor).

Scope and Content

Articles
Newspaper cuttings
Printed music

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections C-D

Church Music Collection (UFS)
Call number  KMA
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 4 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on DB Text (InMagic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation and purchase.
Notes Related to research of Dr. Louwrens Strydom and Prof. Viljoen on church music. See also Strydom, Louwrens (UFS).

Collections S-T

Strydom, Louwrens
Call number  PVS
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 19 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic. Catalogued on DB Text (InMagic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Church Music Collection (UFS).

 

Travers, Noel
Call number  Ntrv
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 2000 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: catalogued on Kovsiecat.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of violin music.