Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: ILAM

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

International Library of African Music (ILAM)

Contact

Dr Lee Watkins (Director)
Tel.:  +27 46 603 8557
E-mail:  l.watkins@ru.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
ILAM
Prince Alfred Street
Grahamstown
6139
South Africa
  ILAM
P.O. Box 94
Grahamstown
6140
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 17

  1. African Musical Instruments Collection
  2. Blacking, John
  3. Dargie, Dave
  4. Douglas, Struan
  5. Drewett, Michael
  6. Espi-Sanchis, Pedro
  7. Kruger, Jaco
  8. Library Materials: Audiovisual
  9. Library Materials: Monographs and Periodicals
  10. Miscellaneous Collections
  11. Monographs and Journals
  12. Singing Wells
  13. Tracey, Andrew
  14. Tracey, Hugh
  15. Weman, Henry
  16. Wolverton, David
  17. Worman, Derek

Potential acquisitions:

Field recording (audio and video) collections of indigenous African music and styles with their roots in African music.
African musical instruments.

Scope and Content

Address books
Administrative records
Agendas
Application forms
Architectural plans
Artefacts
Articles
Bibliographies
Broadcasts
Bulletins
Calendars
Catalogues
Certificates
Constitutional documents
Contracts
Correspondence
Diaries
Films (DVDs; Film reels; U-matic tapes)
Financial documents
Interviews
Inventories
Lectures
Maps
Memoranda
Minutes
Monographs
Musical instruments
Music manuscripts
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notation scores
Notes (Biographical notes; Field notes; Song texts)
Objets d'art
Official documents
Periodicals
Personal documents
Photocopies
Photographic negatives
Photographs
Poetry
Policies
Posters
Press releases
Printed music
Programmes
Reports
Reviews
Schedules
Scripts
Slides
Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos; Wav files)
Speeches
Tickets
Videos

Projects

Research projects (complete):

  • ILAM Photographic Cataloguing and Preservation Project (National Heritage Council).

Research projects (current):

  • ILAM Red Location Music History Project (oral history, outreach, education on South African jazz) (National Heritage Council)
  • ILAM Music Heritage Project SA (National Arts Council).
  • Jazz heritage of New Brighton, Port Elizabeth.
  • Music heritage of Keiskammahoek.
  • Music among the Nupe women in Nigeria.
  • Disappearing tradition of the harepa (harp) in Limpopo.
  • Jazz heritage of the Eastern Cape.
  • Music among the Sidi in India.

Digitisation projects (complete):

  • ILAM/Mellon Cataloguing and Digitizing Project (Andrew Tracey Collection of field recordings; ILAM print holdings; David Dargie Collection of field recordings).
  • ILAM-SAMAP Cataloguing and Digitizing Project.
  • Hugh Tracey Field tape Cataloguing and Digitizing Project.
  • Rand Merchant Bank Hugh Tracey Field Tape Cataloguing and Digitizing Project.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Note:

ILAM produces various publications (CDs, DVDs, journals, monographs, symposium papers and text books). See http://www.ru.ac.za/ilam/publications/.

ILAM Online Sound Archive and ILAM Online Photo Archive accommodate all sound recordings and photographic materials digitised and catalogued by ILAM. See https://www.ru.ac.za/ilam/searches/.

 

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

African Musical Instruments Collection (ILAM)
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent ca. 650 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Musical instruments display at ILAM. Electronic inventory accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition Collected by Andrew Tracey and Hugh Tracey.
Notes -

 

Blacking, John
Call number  JBFT
Type African music.
Extent 537 audio tracks.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Digitised. Field recordings of Venda music.

Collections C-D

Dargie, Dave
Call number  DD; DDC
Type African music; Liturgical music.
Extent ca. 11 331 audio tracks; ca. 10 videos.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue. See https://www.ru.ac.za/ilam/searches/.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Notes (Field notes); Sound recordings (Reel tapes; Sound cassettes); Videos (VHS tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Digitised. Field recordings of Southern African music.

 

Drewett, Michael
Call number  MDC
Type African music; Popular music.
Extent 23 interviews.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Digitised. Interviews with musicians about music censorship during apartheid in South Africa.

 

Douglas, Struan
Call number  MDC
Type African music; Popular music.
Extent 23 interviews.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Digitised. Interviews with musicians about music censorship during apartheid in South Africa.

Collections E-F

Espi-Sanchis, Pedro
Call number  PEUT
Type African music.
Extent 30 videos.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Videos (U-matic tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections K-L

Kruger, Jaco
Call number  JKR; JKC
Type African music.
Extent 946 audio tracks; 31 videos; 1 musical instrument.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Films (DVD); Notes (Field notes); Sound recordings (Reel tapes; Sound cassettes); Videos (VHS tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Digitised. Field recordings of Venda music and folktales. Inclues vhaVenda mbila mutondo.

 

Kubik, Gerhard
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent 8 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Library Materials: Audio-visual (ILAM)
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 580 gramophone records; ca. 40 sound cassettes; ca. 160 CDs; ca. 30 videos.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes); Videos (VHS tapes).
Acquisition By donation and purchase.
Notes -

 

Library Materials: Monographs and Periodicals (ILAM)
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 250 periodicals; ca. 1700 monographs.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Monographs catalogued on OPAC. Periodicals uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs; Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation and purchase.
Notes -

Collections M-N

Miscellaneous Collections: Gebhart, Betina
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent 4 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Some digitised. Field recordings of Bushman music.

Miscellaneous Collections: Johnston, Thomas
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent 2 items.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Some digitised. Field recordings of Shangaan and Tsonga music.

Collections S-T

Singing Wells
Call number  Audio: ATC; Paper: ATC, ATM
Type African music.
Extent ca. 2187 audio tracks; ca. 2500 documents.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic audio catalogue. See https://www.ru.ac.za/ilam/searches//. Electronic catalogue accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Address books; Administrative records; Agendas; Application forms; Architectural plans; Artefacts; Articles; Bibliographies; Bulletins; Catalogues; Certificates; Constitutional documents; Contracts; Correspondence; Films (VHS); Financial documents; Inventories; Lectures; Maps; Memoranda; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notation scores; Notes (Biographical notes; Field notes; Song texts); Objets d'art; Official documents; Personal documents; Photocopies; Policies; Posters; Press releases; Printed music; Programmes; Reports; Reviews; Schedules; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes); Videos.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes Audio digitised. Some documents digitised. Audio collections consists of field recordings of sub-Saharan African music. For Andrew Tracey Photographs, see Hugh Tracey collection.

 

Tracey, Andrew
Call number  Audio: ATC; Paper: ATC, ATM
Type African music.
Extent ca. 2187 audio tracks; ca. 2500 documents.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic audio catalogue. See https://www.ru.ac.za/ilam/searches//. Electronic catalogue accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Address books; Administrative records; Agendas; Application forms; Architectural plans; Artefacts; Articles; Bibliographies; Bulletins; Catalogues; Certificates; Constitutional documents; Contracts; Correspondence; Films (VHS); Financial documents; Inventories; Lectures; Maps; Memoranda; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notation scores; Notes (Biographical notes; Field notes; Song texts); Objets d'art; Official documents; Personal documents; Photocopies; Policies; Posters; Press releases; Printed music; Programmes; Reports; Reviews; Schedules; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).

Acquisition By donation.
Notes Audio digitised. Some documents digitised. Audio collections consists of field recordings of sub-Saharan African music. For Andrew Tracey Photographs, see Hugh Tracey collection.

 

Tracey, Hugh
Call number  Audio: HTFT, AC, TP, BC, CR, NGS, TS, A, GM, OKIEP, ROLL, RRA, MOA, SOA, SABC; Paper: BIO, CTP, HTA, HTB, HTC, HTF, HTL, HTM, HTR, HTT, HTW, ILA, SYM, TTR, MTR, AMJ, INA, PTC, HTCal, HTFJ, HTNB, PTJ, PTFJ, PTNB, OHFJ; Photographs: ILM
Type African music.
Extent ca. 13 077 photographs; ca. 19 817 audio tracks; ca. 19 videos; ca. 11 939 documents; ca. 96 journals; ca. 10 000 field cards.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Online access to audio and photograph catalogues. See https://www.ru.ac.za/ilam/searches/. Electronic document catalogue accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content

Address books; Administrative records; Agendas; Application forms; Architectural plans; Artefacts; Articles; Bibliographies; Broadcasts; Bulletins; Calendars; Catalogues; Certificates; Constitutional documents; Contracts; Correspondence; Diaries; Films (Film reels); Financial documents; Interviews; Inventories; Lectures; Maps; Memoranda; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notation scores; Notes (Biographical notes; Field notes; Song texts); Objets d'art; Official documents; Personal documents; Photocopies; Photographic negatives; Photographs; Poetry; Policies; Posters; Press releases; Printed music; Programmes; Reports; Reviews; Schedules; Scripts; Slides; Sound recordings (78rpm records; LPs; Reel tapes); Speeches; Tickets.

Acquisition By donation.
Notes Most digitised. Audio collection consists of field recordings of sub-Saharan African music and recordings of radio broadcasts and interviews. Also contains Andrew Tracey and Peggy Tracey materials.

  

 

Collections W-Z

Weman, Henry
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent ca. 20 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notes (Field notes); Sound recordings (Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Digitised. Field recordings of Southern African music.

 

Wolverton, David
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent ca. 50 tracks.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notes (Field notes); Sound recordings (WAV files).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Field recordings of Kenyan traditional music.

 

Worman, Derek
Call number  -
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 50 tracks.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessible at ILAM.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Notes (Field notes); Sound recordings (WAV files).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Field recordings of South African traditional music and dance. Classical vocal works sung by South African choirs.