Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: Scope and Content

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Scope and Content

The list below contains terms for use in the Directory.

Preferred Term Content
Address books
Acts and statutes
Administrative records
Agendas
Application forms
 
Architectural plans Building plans
Artefacts (e.g. Baton; Glasses; Hat; Insignia; Medals; Memorabilia; Models; Music Ruler sets; Musical stands; Paint; Paintbrushes; Personal items; Printing blocks; Souvenirs; Stationery; Trophies)

Articles
Attendance registers
Audition lists
Aural tests
Autograph Books
Awards

 
Bequest documents
Bibliographies
Broadcasts
 
Brochures Handbills; Leaflets; Pamphlets
Bulletins
Bursaries
Calendars
Catalogues
 
Certificates Diplomas; Honorary doctorates
Constitutional documents  
Contracts Agreements
Correspondence Cards; Circulars; Telegrams
Curricula Syllabi
Diaries
Films
Financial documents
Furniture
 
Guest books
Guides
Indexes
Interviews
 
Inventories
Invitation cards
Language recordings
 
Lectures Talks
Lending records
Libretti
Maps
Memoranda
Minutes
 
Monographs Books
Music manuscripts Manuscript books; Music sketches
Musical instruments
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notation Scores
 
Notes (Audition lists; Biographical notes; Duty lists; Evaluation forms; Hymn texts; Mailing lists; Manuscripts; Membership lists; Name lists; Notebooks; Printed texts; Song texts; Subscription books; Subscription lists)
Objets d’art (Busts; Caricatures; Drawings; Paintings;
Pencil sketches; Portraits; Prints; Watercolours; Reproductions of paintings; Sketches; Woodcuts)
Official documents  
Periodicals Journals
Personal documents Personal papers; References
Photocopies Music copies
Photographic negatives Negatives; Photographic spools
Photographs
Policies
Posters
 
Press releases
Printed music
Programmes
Proof copies
Questionnaires
 
Reports Annual reports
Reviews  
Schedules Itineraries; Timetables
School reports
Scrapbooks
Scripts
 
Seating plans
Sketchbooks (Art)
Slides
Song books
 
Sound Recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; DVDs; Gramophone
Records; Magnetic Tapes; Mini Discs; Reel tapes; Sound Cassettes; Wax cylinders; Videos)
Speeches
Stamps
Statutes
 
Telephone directories
Textbooks
 
Textiles (Banners; Clothing; Costumes; Curtains; Flags; Handkerchiefs; Uniforms)
Theses
Tickets