Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: War Museum of the Boer Republics

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

War Museum of the Boer Republics

Contact

Ms. Vicky Heunis (Collections Manager)
Tel.: +27 51 447 3447
+27 51 447 0079
E-mail: vicky@anglo-boer.co.za

General
Tel: +27 51 447 3447
+27 51 447 0079
Fax: +27 51 447 1322
E-mail: museum@anglo-boer.co.za 

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
War Museum of the Boer Republics
Monument Road
Bloemfontein
9301
South Africa
  War Museum of the Boer Republics
P.O. Box 34061
Faunasig
Bloemfontein
9325
South Africa



View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 5

  1. Musical Instruments (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
  2. Music Books (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
  3. Sheet Music (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
  4. Song Books (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
  5. Songs (War Museum of the Boer Republics)

Potential acquisitions:

Newspaper cuttings continually updated and donations of individual items.

Scope and Content

Correspondence
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Musical instruments
Articles
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Printed music

Projects

Research projects (complete):
Books on Prisoners of War:
Cillié, G.G.
2000. Gewyde sang en koorsang gedurende die Anglo-Boereoorlog 1899-1902. Bloemfontein: War Museum of  the Boer Republics.
Wessels, Elria. 2010. Bannelinge in die Vreemde: Die Krygsgevanenes van die Anglo-Boereoorlog 1899-1902. Pretoria: Kraal Uitgewers.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
See Document and Photograph Digital Archives.

Digitisation projects (current):
See Document and Photograph Digital Archives.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections M-N

Musical Instruments (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
Call number  -
Type -
Extent ca. 22 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Electronic. See Document and Photograph Digital Archives.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Music Books (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 10 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Electronic. See Document and Photograph Digital Archives.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Notes; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections S-T

Sheet Music (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 53 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Electronic. See Document and Photograph Digital Archives.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Song Books (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 75 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Electronic. See Document and Photograph Digital Archives.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Songs (War Museum of the Boer Republics)
Call number  -
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 137 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Electronic. See Document and Photograph Digital Archives.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -