Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: University of Fort Hare: NAHECS

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

University of Fort Hare: National Heritage and Cultural Studies (NAHECS)

Contact

Dr. Mosoabuli Maamoe (Archivist)
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2050
E-mail:  mmaamoe@ufh.ac.za

Dr T. April (Senior Curator)
E-mail:  tapril@ufh.ac.za

Ms S. Mtshemla (Archivist)
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2587
E-mail:  smtshemla@ufh.ac.za

Ms Z. Mzayiya (Archivist)
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2772
E-mail:  zmzayiya@ufh.ac.za

Mrs N. Jaza (Assistant archivist)
E-mail:  njaza@ufh.ac.za

Ms B. Lolose (Administrator)
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2277
E-mail:  blolose@ufh.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
NAHECS
Main Campus
Alice
5700
South Africa
  NAHECS, University of Fort Hare Library
Private Bag X1322
Alice
5700
South Africa



View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 7

  1. African National Congress (ANC) Collection
  2. Choral Music Collection
  3. Dargie, David
  4. Jordan, Archibald Campbell
  5. Lovedale Press
  6. Oliver Tambo Papers
  7. Pan Africanist Congress of Azania Audiovisual Collection

Potential acquisitions:

Works of African scholars and composers.

Scope and Content

Articles
Broadcasts
Audiovisual materials
(CDs; DVDs; Films; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes, Videos)
Administrative records
Correspondence
Diaries
Memoranda
Minutes
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Pamphlets
Personal documents
Photographs
Printed music
Reports
Speeches

Projects

Research projects (complete):

None.

Research projects (current):

Indigenous Music and Oral History Project.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Digitisation of African National Congress (ANC) collection.
Digitisation of Oliver Tambo collection.

 

Collections A-B

African National Congress (ANC) Collection
Call number  -
Type African music; Liturgical music.
Extent ca. 5620 items. 8 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic). See https://ancarchive.org/.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Audiovisual (Films, LPs, Reel tapes, Sound cassettes, Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes ANC audiovisual collection. Includes items on the following missions: Australia, Cuba, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, London, Lusaka, Mozambique, SOMAFCO, Sweden, United States (USA) and Zimbabwe.
Part of Liberation Movement archives. Includes Amandla! cultural group performances.

 

Collections C-D

Choral Music Collection
Call number  -
Type African music; Liturgical music.
Extent 8 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Notes; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes Xhosa, English and Afrikaans choral music.

 

Dargie, David
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music.
Extent 64 items.
Level of description Unsorted; Sorted.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on University of Fort Hare Library catalogue. See http://opac.seals.ac.za/search~S9.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs; DVDs; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Keyword search ("Dargie") on the catalogue.

 

Collections I-J

Jordan, Archibald Campbell
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music.
Extent 70 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Manuscripts; Printed music; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Collections K-L

Lovedale Press
Call number  AT
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music.
Extent 46 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Administrative records; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Collections O-P

Oliver Tambo Papers
Call number  -
Type African music; Liturgical music; Popular music.
Extent 23 pamphlet boxes (includes ca. 61 music scores).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic). See https://ancarchive.org/.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Broadcasts; Correspondence; Diaries; Memoranda; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Pamphlets; Personal documents; Photographs; Reports; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes); Speeches.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes General collection of Oliver Tambo. Contains choral music scores.

 

Pan Africanist Congress of Azania Audiovisual Collection
Call number  -
Type African music; Liturgical music; Popular music.
Extent ca. 530 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (electronic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Audiovisual items (Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; VHS videos: Betacam videos: U-matic tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes General collection of the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC). Includes items on the following missions: Johannesburg, Tanzania, United Nations, Zimbabwe and London.
Includes music recordings (music as part of news and interview programmes, traditional music, protest songs, freedom songs, PAC songs, revolutionary songs, APLA Choir).
Part of Liberation Movement archives