Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: Genadendal Mission Museum

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

Ms Judith Balie (Curator)
Tel.:  +27 28 251 8582
E-mail:  genadendalmuseum@gmail.com

Physical Address:   Postal Address:

Church Square
Genadendal
Cape Overberg
7234
South Africa

  PO Box 137
Genadendal
7235

South Africa

 

 

Holdings

Collections: 5

  1. Music instrument collection
  2. Music manuscripts
  3. Periodicals
  4. Piano rolls
  5. Printed music

 Potential acquisitions:

Works by South African scholars and composers.

Scope and Content

Musical instruments
Music manuscripts
Periodicals
Printed music

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
Genadendal music project.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections M-N

Music instruments
Call number  -
Type African music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent ca 250 items.
Level of description -
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes African instruments.
Brass instruments.
Drums.
Keyboard instruments: Accordions, choralions, concertinas, harmoniums, pianolas, pianos, pipe organs, reed organs. Includes oldest pipe organ in South Africa.
Stringed instruments: Cellos, double bass, violas, violins, zithers.
Certain items on loan.

 

Music manuscripts
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Handwritten music manuscript books containing hymns.

Collections O-P

Periodicals
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music.
Extent -
Level of description -
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes De Kindervriend. Mark 10:14 Laat die kindertjies na My toe kom. Published 1861-1914.

 

Piano rolls
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent ca 25 items.
Level of description -
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Piano rolls.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Printed music
Call number  -
Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent ca 6 m; 7 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description -
Access -
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Hymn books. Printed music from Genadendal Press (includes Moravian hymnals).