Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: Kimberley Africana Library

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Kimberley Africana Library

KIMBERLEY AFRICANA LIBRARY

Contact

Mrs. Shirley James (Head Librarian)
Tel.:  +27 53 830 6247
E-mail:  sjames@solplaatje.org.za


Ms. Bernice Nagel (Principal Librarian)
Tel.:  +27 53 830 6247
E-mail:  africana@solplaatje.org.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
63-65 Dutoitspan Road
Kimberley

South Africa
  P.O. Box 627
Kimberley
8300
South Africa

 

 


View Larger Map

 

Holdings

Collections: 5

  1. Africana Books
  2. Music Pamphlets
  3. Newspaper Articles
  4. Printed Music
  5. Sheet Music

Potential acquisitions:

None.

Scope and Content

Bibliographies
Brochures
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newspaper cuttings
Printed music

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Collections

Africana Books
Call number  A-
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 80 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: DB Text (InMagic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Bibliographies; Monographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Africana and Kimberley music.

 

Music Pamphlets
Call number  -
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent 6 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Brochures.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Newspaper Articles
Call number  -
Type African music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 100 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue and Electronic: DB Text (InMagic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Printed Music
Call number  A-
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 70 items.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes European music: serves as example of music performed by Kimberley residents.

 

Sheet Music
Call number  A 780
Type African music; Folk music; Military music; Music education; Popular music.
Extent ca. 90 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: DB Text (InMagic).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -