Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: Ditsong National Museum of Military History

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Ditsong National Museum of Military History

Contact

Sandi Mackenzie (Director)
Tel.:  +27 87 086 7019
E-mail:  milmus@ditsong.org.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Ditsong National Museum of Military History
Erlswold Way

Saxonwold
2132
South Africa
  Ditsong National Museum of Military History
P.O. Box 52090
Saxonwold
2132
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 5

  1. Artefacts (Ditsong NMMH)
  2. Individual Items (Ditsong NMMH)
  3. Musical Instruments (Ditsong NMMH)
  4. Photographs (Ditsong NMMH)
  5. Sound Recordings (Ditsong NMMH)

Potential acquisitions:

General donations of individual items.

Scope and Content

Artefacts (Insignia; Models)
Brochures
Correspondence
Monographs
Musical instruments
Music manuscripts
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Objets d’art (Paintings)
Periodicals
Photographs
Printed music
Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes)
Textiles (Banners; Uniforms)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Collections

Artefacts (Ditsong NMMH)
Call number  -
Type Military music.
Extent ca 75 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access

Card catalogue.
Electronic database.

Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts (Insignia; Badges; Models); Objets d’art (Paintings); Textiles (Banners; Uniforms).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Located in museum.

 

Individual Items (Ditsong NMMH)
Call number  355.346
Type Military music.
Extent ca. 123 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Electronic database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Arranged alphabetically according to subject, author or title. Located in museum library.

 

Musical Instruments (Ditsong NMMH)
Call number  -
Type -
Extent ca. 26 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic inventory (Microsoft Word).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Musical instuments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Located in museum.

 

Photographs (Ditsong NMMH)
Call number  -
Type African music; Military music.
Extent ca. 8000 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card Catalogue: Catalogued under 'Recreation'.
Electronic database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contains ca. 150 music related items. Located in museum and in museum library.

 

Sound Recordings (Ditsong NMMH)
Call number  -
Type Military music.
Extent ca. 150 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register and Electronic: Microsoft Word.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Recordings of music, speeches, programmes and sounds. Located in museum library.