Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: SABC Radio Archives

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

Mr Peter Raseroka
Tel.:  +27 11 714 4671
E-mail:  raserokapp@sabc.co.za

Peggy Mokgopo
Tel.:  +27 11 714 3987
Fax:  +27 11 714 4281
E-mail:  mokgopotp@sabc.co.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
SABC Radio Archives
Radiopark Building
Cnr Kingsway and Henley Road
Auckland Park

Johannesburg
South Africa
  SABC Radio Archives
P.O. Box 931
Auckland Park
Johannesburg
2006
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 4

  1. JAD Room / Deep Archives
  2. Production Notes (SABC)
  3. Programmes (SABC)
  4. Radio Stations (Backlog)

Potential acquisitions:

Continual donations.

Scope and Content

Notes
Programmes
Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Gramophone records; Mini discs; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Digitisation of reel to reel tapes, mini discs, sound cassettes, CDs, DAT and grammophone records.

Collections

JAD Room / Deep Archives
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 17 145 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic catalogue: NDM (Mainframe). System not open to public (Internet). Dalet and Dira systems for staff and clients on-site.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Radio stations: Radio Sonder Grense (RSG), SAFM, Radio 2000, 5FM, Metro FM. Oral tradition collections. Collections of institutions.

 

Production Notes (SABC)
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 15 folders.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Programmes (SABC)
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 44 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Programmes mostly from radio stations. Some programmes from SAMRO and Department of Arts and Culture.

 

Radio Stations (Backlog)
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent -
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued. Accessed through date or name of programmes.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Mini discs; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Radio stations: Radio Sonder Grense (RSG), SAFM, Radio 2000, 5FM, Metro FM. Oral tradition collections. Collections of institutions.