Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: National Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

National Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)

Contact

Mr. Christopher Grové
Tel.:  +27 12 441 3169
E-mail:  ChristopherG@dac.gov.za

Tel:  +27 12  441 3150
Fax:  +27 12 441 3199
Fax to e-mail:  +27 86 529 5729
E-mail: Film.Enquiries@dac.gov.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
National Film, Video and Sound Archives
239 Vermeulen Street
Pretoria
0083
South Africa
National Film, Video and Sound Archives
Private Bag X236
Pretoria
0001
South Africa


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 4

  1. Audio cassettes (NFVSA)
  2. Compact discs (NFVSA)
  3. Gramophone records (NFVSA)
  4. Reel tapes (NFVSA)

Potential acquisitions:

Continual new donations of South African music material.

Scope and Content

Sound Recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Collections

Audio Cassettes (NFVSA)
Call number  OK-
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 4600 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Electronic: Microsoft Word; Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Compact Discs (NFVSA)
Call number  CD-
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 1700 items (accessioned).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Electronic: Microsoft Word; Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Only 750 listed.

 

Gramophone Records (NFVSA)
Call number  R-
Type African music; Folk music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 5500 items (accessioned).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Electronic: Microsoft Word; Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Speeches, music albums and language recordings.

 

Reel Tapes (NFVSA)
Call number  -
Type Western art music.
Extent Item list lost.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access [Uncatalogued].
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Sound recordings (Reel tapes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Listed in 2001. Register lost.