Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: University of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

UCT South African College of Music (SACM)

UCT: SOUTH AFRICAN COLLEGE OF MUSIC

Contact

 

Mr. Michael Nixon
Tel.: +27 21 650 2630
Fax: +27 21 650 2627
E-mail: michael.nixon@uct.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
South African College of Music
University of Cape Town
Lower Campus
Woolsack Drive
Rondebosch
South Africa
  South African College of Music
University of Cape Town
Private Bag X3
Rondebosch
7701
South Africa

 

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 1

  1. Kirby Collection

Potential acquisitions:

None.

Scope and Content

Music manuscripts
Musical instruments
Objets d’art (Pencil sketches).

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
Construction of Online database for Kirby Collection.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Digital photographing of instruments to be linked to Kirby Collection database.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections K-L

Kirby, Percival R.
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 637 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed inventory. Electronic database (accessed by staff only).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Musical instruments; Objets d’art (Pencil sketches).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes instruments from Africa (Including Egypt and Morocco), Argentina, China, India and Papua New Guinea. See Kirby Collection, Percival Kirby photographic collection and UCT digital collections.