Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Directory of South African Music Collections: Johannesburg Public Library

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Johannesburg Public Library: Harold Strange Library of African Studies

JOHANNESBURG PUBLIC LIBRARY

Contact

     

Mrs. Sithembile Mkhize
Tel.:  +27 11 407 7703
E-mail:  sithembilemk@joburg.org.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Harold Strange Library of African Studies
First Floor, Central Library
Johannesburg Public Library
Beyers Naudé Square

Johannesburg
2001
South Africa
  The Director
Library Services
Harold Strange Library of African Studies
Johannesburg Public Library
Beyers Naudé Square
Johannesburg
2001
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 2

  1. Africana (Johannesburg Public Library)
  2. Strange Theatre Collection

Potential acquisitions:

Continual donations of South African music material.

Scope and Content

Bibliographies
Brochures
Catalogues
Constitutions
Correspondence
Financial documents
Libretti
Minutes of meetings
Monographs
Music scores
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Programmes
Scrapbooks

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Collections

Africana (Johannesburg Public Library)
Call number  Dewey 78, followed by name of musician
Type African music; Anthems; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 5820 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Bibliographies; Brochures; Catalogues; Constitutions; Correspondence; Financial documents; Libretti; Minutes; Monographs; Music scores; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Currently converting to electronic database (Urika).

 

Strange Theatre Collection
Call number  STC, followed by artist, alphabetically arranged
Type African music; Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent 1044 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue: DDC 16 and Universal Cataloguing System.
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Theatre programmes.